Steemph.cebu's Gift Giving Day: My Personal Account and Perspective

in #gift-giving7 years ago

IMG20171217202432.jpg

Hello Steemians!

Introduction

IMG20171217181320.jpg

Kim T. Ybañez here (@ybanezkim26) and I would like to share my personal account and perspective about what happened yesterday (December 17, 2017). An event initiated by @steemph.cebu entitled Gift Giving Day was finally realized and I happened to be there as a witness (not to be confused with steemit's witness).

IMG20171217203011.jpg

The core leaders of @steemph.cebu has been very active in outreach programs and civic initiatives. I have no doubt about that because they never missed to provide an update about their projects. For this activity alone, 2 updates (Update 1 and Update 2) were posted aside from the original post. On top of that, there were also updates provided by the individual members which were posted on their personal blogs. Because of these updates, I was fully informed that the activity is not a joke.

IMG20171217201924.jpg

I decided to join and be a volunteer on the last minute because I was supposed to have a prior commitment. To add salt to the wound, I am socially-awkward and I haven't met all these people yet. Interactions with @themanualbot is through Messenger group chat only and the rest is though steemit comments and replies. As they say, everything happens for a reason.

Why? You might be asking right now.

First Reason: My prior commitment got cancelled due to Tropical Depression Urduja.
Second Reason: My latest post entitled Existence of Art Even in Mundane Places made it to @curie!

I have all the reasons to join now that the universe has conspired for me. Anyway, I will now share my perspective about the activity before we will be lost in the rumblings of my head. I'll divide it into two parts: the first part is more on passive observation and the second part is more on active involvement.

IMG20171217201735.jpg

First Part: Passive Observation


I arrived at the venue (DSWD Building, Mandaue City, Cebu) with only @themanualbot and @jassennessaj as the familiar ones. As I've said, I haven't met these people yet. Once the program started, I was just at the corner; watching and observing.

IMG20171217183328.jpg

I'm like a journalist in the field who's trying to take in every single thing he can process. In my case, I'm absorbing all the positivity in the venue. Children laughing, steemians enjoying, and mothers smiling; these are the sights that made me overwhelmed. I have this explosion of the senses. Everything's a mess in my head. A beautiful mess. A clutter of it's own. It's more than I could decipher.

IMG20171217181813.jpg

I have to add it here my observations: the quirky and bubbly attitude of @purepinay and @bellatravelph, the leadership prowess of @jassennessaj, and the chill and laid-back persona of @themanualbot. Forgive me if these are the only people I can mention. It's because they're the ones familiar to me.

IMG20171217184658.jpg

As the program continued, I took tons of pictures. I thought that I should document everything. But as it went on, I became more engaged. If I'm not mistaken, it was during the distribution of 10 kg of rice when I started to be involved. This leads to the second part.

Second Part: Active Involvement


It's this part that I enjoyed the most. Seeing the families especially the kids happy when the goods were distributed, I can't help myself from smiling.

It's this part that I feel I'm part of something bigger than myself. It's this part that I envisioned to be bigger than myself.

I never contributed anything of monetary value to realize the activity and yet, I feel overjoyed thinking that everything happens because of steemit.

IMG20171217193846.jpg

The social-awkwardness thing is still there, but I have been slowly overcoming it. To my fellow steemians who were present at that time, forgive me if I didn't socialize. I'm still a work-in-progress. I'm still in the process of getting out of my shell. Don't worry; I'll mingle with you all the next time we meet.

IMG20171217183456.jpg

Let's go back to the activity (enough with the personal drama). It was a full package. There were games and prizes were given to those who participated. Ten (10) kg of rice, toiletries and soaps, groceries, and cash assistance were all provided to the 12 chosen families. Take note that it's 6 families in the original post and then 8 in the update, but it's actually 12. It's a perfect gift any family would want to receive this season. Dinner was also served to those families.

IMG20171217190135.jpg

After the program, I always take photos of children who were so happy with the gifts. They tried to lift the packages with their little hands. You can really feel how ecstatic they were. It was a sight to behold. Thank you @steemph.cebu for organizing such kinds of activities.

IMG20171217201304.jpg

Here other photos that captured my heart:

IMG20171217202606.jpg

IMG20171217202647.jpg

IMG20171217194706.jpg

IMG20171217202544.jpg

The Ending Ritual


After the chosen families left the venue, I thought that we would all be going home. I was wrong. There was this choreographed feat involving candles. The lights were off and we were to form a heart shape out of the lighted candles. The outcome was magnificent!

IMG20171217204636.jpg

Sending and spreading all the love from Cebu!

IMG_20171217_220717_786.jpg


Here's my only proof of existence:

IMG20171217190658.jpg


IMG20171217194046.jpg

@jassennessaj, @ninyea, @itinerantph, @mikekenlytungal, @jaderpogi, @rezjons, @leryam12, @maedian, @julsmlz, @philiparniebinag, @lullettematz, @dwaeji-aizelle, @babybear, @themanualbot, @junebride, @fernwehninja, @hillaryaa, @smaeunabs, @ted7, @micch, @purepinay, @rafael.espina, @mosheheart, @belvaj, @maimaimaichan, and @josejirafa. You guys were awesome! I wish to know you more, personally.

With much positivity,
@ybanezkim26

Sort:  

I am too socially awkward! lol ^_-

Nice to see you there, I might not remember all the faces but my pleasure to share every moment with my dearest Steemian. I am grateful for your time and I hope to see you again next time.

I'll try my best to join you guys for I won't be staying in the Philippines for long but am always here on Steemit that's for sure ^_-

Happy Steeming!

UPVOTED
XOXO
-purepinay

Thank you @purepinay! It was nice to personally meet a person who became one of the inspirations here on steemit. I hope to see you all again next time.

Medyo hard to believe. Hahaha!
You were one of the people that I really noticed last Sunday night. Very energetic and really friendly.
Till next time! :D

By the way. Thanks for the fork that you gave for the cake @purepinay! Haha! :D

Heeeeeeeey ikaw diay to! Hala sayang wala gyud ta nagkatabi @ybanezkim26!!!

Heeey! Next time at @smaeunabs. Magtabi na gyud ta for sure. Hahaha

Lookimg forward to it @ybanezkim26! See you again soon! :)

Thank you for your participation @ybanezkim26 :)

Thank you for organizing events like that @themanualbot. I overheard na kaya ra man ang 200K na budget nuh? Asa naman sad?

Yer not alone brotha! I was also shy during the event. Couldn't talk to anyone but to the emcees and @jassennessaj only. Haha!

I was even late. Got stranded for an hour locating DSWS. Got there by 7pm.

Anyways. Good being a part of the volunteers! Till next time! :D

Until next time @rafael.espina. Dili na ta pa.shy2x. Hahaha

Hahaha! I'll do my best @ybanezkim26! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84