How to Tattoo Goats' ears for identification purposes!

in #ghsc5 years ago

Good morning all!


As you all know, we raise miniature dairy goats, and in order to register them, you have to tattoo their ears!


This process is not for the faint of heart, but once you do it a few times, it gets easier. Here is a video we made of our last two babies that needed tattooing. Thanks @SnekLady for helping film!!

Hopefully you found that informative or at least, interesting! Thanks for stopping by and have a fabulous day!


page-break-1024x256.png
Badge comp.png

Creative Commons License
This work by @SquishySquid is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

My heart was beating so fast. And when you preempted that she would jump and squeal and she did... poor things
But it looked like the pain is just when you puncture the ear...
hi to @sneklady 😊

Yes, it hurts for a brief moment, but afterward, they run off and jump and play.
Not something I would choose to do unless I was forced to. Legally they have to have permanent identification, and the other option is ear tags, which are ugly, and can catch on things and be ripped out. :(
@SnekLady says HI! ♥

That’s interesting
Is this so that there is no stealing or disputes of who the goats belong to if ever they went astray?

Well, I think the law has more to do with preventing spread of disease, so that if an outbreak of something occurs, they can trace it back to its breeder. It is also in order to register the goat for pedigree purposes, that way they can make sure the goat being sold is indeed the goat they claim it is. :)
And yeah, if a goat is stolen and maybe sold at a sale, they can find the original owner.

Thank you
So much to livestock that this city girl is glad to know a little about 😊

what a sweet animal!

Thanks! I love my little goaties! ♥

This is the one of the worst parts about having goats. I need to try the numbing cream, we typically just do them. We use 5/16 letters and have two of the pliers, hit both ears at one time. Thanks for the video!

I agree! I dont like it, but have to do it. Someday I am planning on getting a second set of pliers so I can do it like that also, good point!
Thanks for watching!

How do you work out what numbers to use, are you given specific numbers or is it just random?

Posted using Partiko iOS

The right ear has the farm tattoo, which is a set tattoo. My herd name is 'Reading Tree Farm', so my tattoo is RTF2, (apparently RTF and RTF1 were taken...). The ADGA has a suggested letter for each year. This year's letter is 'L'. Then people usually number the individual goats. So the fifth baby born that year would be RTF2 in the right ear, and L5 in the left ear. :D

Wouldn't be for me I think would not want to hurt them although it is necessary :)

Yes, I absolutely do not like hurting them, and when the buyer doesnt want it done, I dont. Also the goats that get to stay here aren't tattooed either. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63548.34
ETH 2646.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74