You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Twenty-one Years, Twenty-two Turkeys and a lifetime in between

in #ghsc6 years ago

@fionasfavourites,

Fiona, you are a brilliant chef and a brilliant writer ... I cannot believe I just spent 10 minutes engrossed in a story about a dilapidated barbecue ... and yet, I did.

That 'roasted pork neck with gravy' ... I am salivating on my keyboard, and so, if I suddenly stop posting, I'm probably dead ... electrocuted. Tell @jaynie ... it's a pretty good excuse for missing a few daily 'support confirmations' although, knowing her, she probably won't care: "No Excuses means ... No Excuses!"

You know, I love turkey and cannot understand why we only eat it (in North America anyway) twice a year: Christmas and Thanksgiving. Part of my love of turkey is that it provides the pretext you need to eat with your hands. A drumstick will not suffer the indignity of being eaten with utensils and so you have no choice.

Oh, I know, you etiquette snobs are probably horrified, but here's the thing: Eating with your hands fires primal networks within our brains and triggers the secretion of enormous amounts of serotonin, opioids and endocannibinoids.

Reward.

I go where the science takes me.

Indeed, to further augment the experience, I will often growl at a good piece of meat. As a little girl, my daughter used to think this was funny. Now, as a young lady, she's become somewhat disapproving as everyone says she's her Father's daughter and is afraid of getting tarred with the same brush.

I don't care, I do lots of other nice stuff for her.

Indeed, I'm toying with the idea of getting down on all fours for my next Christmas Dinner ... snarling and yap-yap-laughing like a hyena at my succulent turkey leg, blanched green beans and garlic mashed potatoes. Hell, I may drink directly from the gravy bowl.

Congrats on the Curie. Well deserved. And Bon Apetit.

Quill

Sort:  

@Quillfire

Oh, I know, you etiquette snobs are probably horrified, but here's the thing: Eating with your hands fires primal networks within our brains and triggers the secretion of enormous amounts of serotonin, opioids and endocannibinoids.
 

Where do you get the idea that I am an etiquette snob? Because I set a pretty table and have improved my plating skills?

Oh ye of little faith!

No self-respecting South African eats a chop or a chicken leg with a knife and fork! Besides, how can one suck the bones - of anything - if one doesn't pick it up with one's fingers? Actually, in the days I jived in Soweto, to which I alluded here I learned how to eat more than just meat cooked on a fire with my hands. A skill that's stood me in good stead, I might add.

Now I've recovered from my pique, I agree with you about the infrequency with which we cook and eat turkey. And ham for that matter. I think I shall most definitely be doing another Christmas in July: it enables us to comfortably enjoy a "traditional" turkey roast with all the trimmings which is entirely impractical in the heat of summer at Christmas in South Africa.

I'm toying with the idea of getting down on all fours for my next Christmas Dinner ... snarling and yap-yap-laughing like a hyena at my succulent turkey leg, blanched green beans and garlic mashed potatoes. Hell, I may drink directly from the gravy bowl.

If you follow through with this next Christmas, I fear you will have more than Katie to worry about. Some unsuspecting person (or people) might just decide to put you in a funny jacket with extra long sleeves and cart you off. If that happened, we'd miss you. Really.

Finally, I am delighted that my story of our delapidated barbecue was so entertaining. No, actually, I am thrilled.

Your congratulations are much appreciated!

Bon Apetit

slàinte agad-sa

@fionasfavourites,

Couldn't help but notice, yet again ... you are a very good writer

Arrgh ... Every time I visit your blog, I end up hungry. Off to the kitchen. :-)

Quill

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23