Sort:  

Nice setup! I set mine up as high as I can so the drain hose has a little pressure for the garden, But I LOVE the mosquito screen! They are a real problem here. Hard to believe that this barrel is 450+ pounds when full!

I found some wonderful Tumeric Rhizomes in my mailbox today! Thanks a lot, they are beautiful! I have never seen any rhizomes as plump as these are. Impressive roots for sure, and the color is perfect, and deep.

:)

need more than mosquito screens to keep the pests in Oklahoma under control.

Nawh, we keep the pests out by closing I-35 at the Red River, ROFLOL!

Actually the screen works pretty well, especially if you put some 1/4" mesh hardware cloth 6" above it to catch leaves first. I would like to replace it with a 255 gallon bulk container.

:)

sir smithlabs! well that sounds good, will your new house have that system set up to catch rain water?

Not at first, but when I add the sheet metal second roof it will be added. The greenhouse will collect all the rainwater to feed the Aquaponics systems in it.

The second roof will help me reach a net zero house, by blocking solar on the first roof. I can collect what I want for winter use above the second roof.

:)

ok sir smithlabs but how does the greenhouse collect rainwater?

Gutters off the roof, into holding tanks! Then I can pump into the systems when they get low.

This greenhouse will be half buried (A Walipinni greenhouse) with the North side earth bermed to save heat in winter.

Should be fun, LOL!

:)

sir smithlabs..big talk but I don't see anything happening, when do you start doing something and then posting about it so we know you ain't just talk! lol.

Nice! I decided one day to forget my 330 gallon tote was left with the valve open, and it ran for two hours. Over half of it drained out in that time. That said, don't forget to turn it off :)

Thought that was ice on the barrel untill the last pic haha nice idea with the mesh i need to do something like that with mine in the greenhouse to keep all the rubbish out. 👍 thanks for sharing

Posted using Partiko Android

Interesting way to set up the water barrel, having it raised on the blocks.
I usually cut the entire top out of the barrel, leaving the rim for structural strength. The first barrel that I did for rain water, I cut the entire top of of. That turned out to be a mistake, so now I leave the rim on the barrel.
I like how you hold the screen on the barrel, that's better than my method.

howdy again sir makinstuff! Nice set up there, excellent screen usage also!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63330.76
ETH 3090.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80