You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Amsterdam's Answer to Declining Bee Populations

in #ghsc6 years ago (edited)

I try to do my little part by planting some flowers the bees might like in the spring and not poisoning my yard which kills the clover. I let the clover grow in my flower beds between my flower pots. Last year I had an award winning stand of clover. ha ha... .It's very pretty really.

Sort:  

Dutch clover and dandelions are the the lawn plants that do the most good for the bees. Flowering trees are the best way to provide bee forage unless you are a farmer. One tree can provide as much forage as an acre of clover.

Linden, crabapple, and red maple are all very productive landscaping trees that produce good forage.

We live out in the country where the landscaping standards are pretty low. There is a little grass around the house that we keep reasonably well trimmed, but the chickens will destroy anything else.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57653.84
ETH 2354.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35