You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Global Homesteading: How a Community Can Fill Your Cup

in #ghsc6 years ago

So glad @dipoabasch featured you in his #payitforward post this week! This was a great read.
I was just last week discussing with someone how times have changed, wondering if anyone still goes next door for an egg or cup of flour. However you are very right the concept lives on just with miles involved. Just yesterday Papa Bill dropped by gifting me some sassafras as well as an antique light fixture from the old family home-place. On Sat we will make the two hour trip to his place taking the welder to help with some auto repairs. Though I do still miss having relatives just across the yard, the community spirit still lives strong.
I also am finding the same here on Steemit. I feel very fortunate to have found some great communities who focus on the growth of all members while helping out new accounts.
I am always excited to meet some new community minded people. I am sure we will find ourselves traveling some of the same circles, so will bump into each other again.

Sort:  

I agree! Everything comes with pros and cons doesn't it? I love being close to friends and family but I also love being in the country. Sounds like you definitely embrace the community spirit even with the miles between you. How serendipitous that you were just talking about going next door to borrow an egg or cup of flour. :)

Also, I just learned that the discord link expires within a day so if you haven't joined yet and would like to here is a new link: https://discord.gg/qtByb6

I look forward to bumping into you again here on steemit. -Aimee

Thanks so much for the update.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57329.79
ETH 2914.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67