Weird things? Has the Under Hill phenomenon ever happened to you?

in #ghosts8 years ago

I've been here before, yet this totally looks wrong and I am wide awake... Have I stepped Under the Hill?

I referred to this from my dream post earlier this morning. This is actually a phenomena that myself and three other people experienced one night. It is something my wife experienced before she and I were together. Is it something you have experienced?

I think I was the one that started calling this "Going Under The Hill" and I took the term from old folklore/mythology about the Fae, Sidhe, Changelings, Tuatha De Danan, etc.

I was also inspired by the following books by Tom Deitz (yes, they are Urban Fantasy, fiction)

So what happens?


All I can do is recount the one time I have experienced this and what happened. It was an unusual night. I cannot 100% say that it was not caused by us psyching each other up. I can say that all four of us experienced the same thing.

In Gunnison, Colorado around 1992 or so myself and three other people decided to go look for ghosts. This was before things like Ghost Hunters and reality TV were doing such things. I do not drink, I do not do drugs, but I am into adrenaline. Looking for ghosts never failed to offer some degree of adrenaline high without requiring me to have money to pay to Bungee Jump, Sky Dive, etc. It does not appear to be life threatening, but it still scratches that particular itch.

Slaughterhouse Road


There is a road called Slaughterhouse Road. I think it may be County Road 13, but I don't remember the exact number. I had heard of people seeing red eyes floating in the darkness off the side of the road out there. I had been on that road numerous times over the years during the day time. It actually links up to a neighborhood in Gunnison and runs for probably less than a mile before dead ending. Along the lengths of either side of it are pastures and not much in the way of trees. There are trees at the dead end.

Along the way you will cross a cattle guard and before you get to the dead end on the left side of the road you'll eventually see a house with a semi circular drive way. I've been told this or another building out there were a slaughterhouse and that is where the nickname for the road came from. I never bothered to verify it, you know as well as I do how Urban Legends can grow with retelling.

That Night


We crossed the cattle guard. Things felt a little OFF. One of the people with us was majorly panicking and freaking out, over just what his own mind was doing to him. Nothing actually happened, but just the idea of what we were doing had really gotten him going. It takes a lot more to get me going than that, as I'd been doing such things for years for enjoyment in mostly Lake City, Colorado. (I would later be a tour guide on Ghost Tours for the Hinsdale County Museum recounting childhood tales)

This slaughterhouse road night was odd and unlike anything I've ever experienced. Something just felt off. The dark off the side of the road seemed DARKER. We walked past a bunch of trees and made it to the dead end. One of the people with me lived not far from there. He and I kept looking to our left and shaking our head. "Isn't there supposed to be a house there?" We both look at each other. The guy freaking out does not hear us or know what we are talking about. We are at this point trying not to get him worked up anymore. "I don't remember all of those trees being there..."... "Me either"

We hype ourselves up more and the guy freaking out claimed to see someone looking at him (I didn't see it) so we left.

Return Trip


My friend that lived close to there, and I could not shake the fact that what we saw didn't match what we know of that road. Later that night (a couple of hours) he and I went back down there by ourselves. The house was there, it had a lot of lights, and it's driveway was there, and there were a lot fewer trees.

Explanation


I cannot explain this experience. I have no logical explanation, and we all saw the same thing (except for whatever the freaked out guy claimed to see).

In historical legend the closest to a description for what I had heard was the idea of traveling under the hill to the land of the faeries. I thus, started referring to this as going under the hill. It was as though for a moment we stepped into an out of phase parallel to where we are. None of us were drunk, or drug users. Like I said my drug of choice was adrenaline.

Years Later


I was speaking with my wife who was a Deputy Sheriff for Hinsdale County. She said that something like this happened to her once when she was on patrol on one of the remote mountain roads the Sheriff's office had to patrol weekly. She actually entered what seemed like an out of phase area while driving. I was not there, so I can only go with what she told me.

What about you?


I am curious to know if anything like this has happened to any of you. Do you have any ideas what is up with this? (besides calling me a nutjob and saying mass hallucination)


Steem On!

Sort:  

I have read stories about this and there are several others that discuss this along with The Mandela Effect etc. What you are describing to me is a parallel reality/universe or whatever you would like to call it. There are stories of people coming and going from our reality throughout history that don't make sense. I have issues with the concept of technology advancing at the rate it has as quickly as it has over the last 100 years or so, but I often get argued that it is about "productivity scaling." We invent things that make us more productive at inventing things that make us more productive etc. I still personally believe that going from the invention of electricity to theorizing quantum computing in the span of approximately one century compared to how long things such as an abacus , the wheel, forged metals, and other basic concepts took to develop and spread is kind of unrealistic in comparison. I don't know if I believe anything in particular boosted our technology, such as aliens or time/parallel travelers, but I do believe it seems odd compared to the history we are taught.

My personal experiences are usually limited to Mandela Effect issues and a few odd "shifts." I refer to what you experienced as a shift, some would call it a "glitch in the matrix" or assume magical/religious interaction. I am not a die hard believer in the matrix theory, although I will say there are some weird coincidences such as memory bleed and other things like "graphical glitches" that tend to lead into that school of thought. I am more of the parallel dimensions school of thought and that time is fluid and constantly moving in every direction at once. I believe there are infinite continuations of every possibility in every direction at any given time, which means if they cross or run too close to being identical you can get déjà vu and remembering things differently, thinking you see yourself/friend/family in a place they couldn't be. To be fair matrix theory and parallel realities overlap on a lot of issues and should probably be almost taken as being one in the same objectively. One is based entirely on the idea that our existence is entirely computer based and we can "leave this reality." While the other tends to be more organic and believe in most of the same occurrences sans computer/artificial intelligence control.

Speaking of others that theorize these things, you can find some of us odd jobs littered throughout internet forums/message boards/IRCs about parallel dimensions and time travel (some in the alien/UFO and maybe flat earth). Personally I don't really find the alien/UFO and flat earth theories that interesting and they are not going to be provable without the ability of intergalactic space travel so I'll stick to what we know and the theories that we can test etc.

Great response. You do realize that alien/UFO does not necessarily have to be space craft, they could in fact be dimensional or time craft instead and still fit with the narrative. Though I believe we would like them to be intergalactic because that offers help that perhaps we can do that as well.

I have issues with the concept of technology advancing at the rate it has as quickly as it has over the last 100 years or so

That's because we as humans deal better with things being linear, as they always seemed to be... well, up to about a hundred years ago. Then the exponential nature of progress started to be visible and changes are happening so fast that we actually see them in our lifespan. Progress was always exponential, but it looked linear through our usual 50-year window. Now its nature is fully visible. It does make people uncertain (rightfully so), but it's not unexpected and not... "unrealistic". And it's not about productivity, not quite, it's building upon knowledge amassed by previous generations. Think not about addition, but multiplication :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60479.65
ETH 2906.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43