Scapegoat: A Mysterious Experience of a Rich Second Generation

in #ghostlast month

eea7-9f7b-4589-8bd2-f91ed416673451.jfif

Today, let's talk about a story of substitutional death. After graduating from university, I strayed from my true self for a long time in pursuit of money. I'm also grateful that deviating from my true self at that time allowed me to travel and witness many strange things. Today's story is about a bizarre incident involving my sister's childhood friend, an undeniable second-generation rich kid. How should I describe him? The two of us combined had enough money to shake the economy of the entire town - that's how wealthy he was.

He lived a life of debauchery, similar to most rich second-generation kids. Like a small portion of them, he had an attitude of playing with life and wanted to break free from his old man's constraints to start his own business. Currently, he runs the largest barbecue restaurant in town and plans to open several chain stores. In just a few years, Boli Town has rapidly risen, connecting with Dongjikou and showing trends of becoming a new city. As I drank my draft beer and listened to him boast, I couldn't help but sigh that it's good to be rich.

"Back then, you know, the most troublesome weren't the big shots in the underworld. We all knew each other, and if there were any conflicts, we'd find a mediator to smooth things over. The most headache-inducing were idiots like me who didn't know anyone, fantasizing about taking down a few big shots to make a name for ourselves. Bah, in the underworld, you're nothing without money. I almost kicked the bucket back then."

Hearing there was a story, I quickly poured him another draft beer to wet his whistle.

"It was around this time when I dropped out of university and returned to town with a passion to carve out a real career. At that time, Qingdao's restrictions weren't so strict, the underworld was thriving, and non-mainstream culture filled the streets. I had a straight-up mohawk with bangs covering half my eye. How handsome I was! You little punk, calling me an idiot. I was a true scene kid. I thought I was really something back then, but actually, it was my old man who was impressive. His underworld friends gave him face, and since I didn't do anything outrageous besides boasting and mediating, the old man just let me be."

"That year, I was drinking at a roadside stall when two young guys next to me started arguing over something. Beer bottles were flying everywhere. I was trying to eat quietly and chat up girls, you know? Being somewhat of a somebody, I shouted at them, 'Hey kids, do your brother a favor and break it up.' I thought, who doesn't know me around here? They should at least give me some face and take their fight elsewhere. But before I could finish talking, a beer bottle cracked my head open, and one of the blonde punks rushed over and stabbed me right in the chest, muttering, 'Who the hell are you?' Well, damn, how could I take that with my temper? I passed out right there and then."

I sprayed the beer I had just sipped all over his face. Embarrassed, I wiped my mouth and hastily tried to clean his face with a napkin, but he waved it off, unconcerned.

"Everything went black. I felt like there was a road in front of me, though I didn't know where. Endless darkness lined both sides of the road, but strangely, the road itself was crystal clear. I figured since I didn't know where I was, I might as well walk. I guessed I was dead, and this was probably the road to the underworld. I thought about how young I was, stabbed to death, and all I'd done in life was hold a girl's hand. What a massive loss!"

I couldn't help but spit out another mouthful of lamb kidney onto his face. This guy had some nerve, thinking about that on the road to the underworld.

"This shouldn't be happening. The old man had my fortune told, saying I had 88 years of life. I hadn't even lived half of that, and here I was, kicking the bucket. That old fortune-teller wasn't reliable at all. I was muttering to myself, feeling more and more frustrated, so I squatted down on the road and cried. Suddenly, an incredibly ugly old man appeared in front of me, saying he was going to take me away. Looking at this old man, I didn't think he was up to any good, so I struggled desperately, shouting that I wouldn't go, that I hadn't lived enough. The old man, probably annoyed by my noise, squatted down with a big pipe in his mouth and said, 'If you don't want to go, you'll have to find someone to replace you. Who do you choose?' I was still fierce then, so I said, 'Anyone but me will do.' Before I could finish, the old man kicked me off the road, and I woke up with a start, realizing I was in the hospital. The doctor said I was lucky; if the knife had been a few millimeters off, it would have pierced my heart, and even the greatest deity couldn't have saved me."

He finished speaking and took a sip of his drink, then patted the head of the little boy next to him, urging him to finish eating and start on his homework.

"I thought it was just a dream, but not long after, my mom came and told me that my sister-in-law had died in childbirth almost at the exact moment I woke up. I don't know if it was a coincidence or real, but I felt very guilty. I knelt before my sister-in-law's spirit tablet for seven days and seven nights. My older brother was busy with his business and didn't have much time to take care of my nephew, so I took him in and raised him myself. I think that if I hadn't let someone take my place back then, maybe he would still have a mother."

I couldn't help but laugh wryly, looking at the pitch-black sky. There are so many coincidences in this world, and who really knows what it's all about?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60986.47
ETH 2413.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59