You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to get a driver's license in Thailand.

Good that you have one, and also it’s definitely something that 90% of people don’t think about - a driving licence in Thailand. As things are pretty relaxed, you assume they don’t care or check driving licences.... but... as my friend sadly found out, he got pulled over on his moped and he has a uk driving licence, and was fined 4000baht! He then applied for his international driving licence and is all good.

I only have my uk driving licence and just never think about it! International license is good, Thai licence will be essential is your staying long term like you. A good thing to think about for sure:)

Sort:  

4000B? your friend was definitely ripped off.

Yep! It was in Chiangmai, he said that’s what the police asked him to pay and he kind of just had to do it, it was in his first or second week in Thailand too, maybe his moped riding wasn’t quite as confident. But yep 4000 is a lot to fork out! I would have hated it, but I guess you kind of have to pay if the police ask you...

I’ve been pulled over before and the police just searched me and checked my bike and I was on my way!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 67623.71
ETH 3786.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70