The Isle (Korean): I have mixed feelings about this one

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago (edited)

I'll get this out in the open right now: This film is extremely graphic and you really don't want to watch this if there are kids around. Apparently that is what the director, Kim Ki-duk tries to accomplish in his work. It's not a gore-fest like "Saw" or anything. Its stomach-churning content is far more psychological and realistic.

220px-The_Isle_Poster.jpg

The movie starts out normally enough (it's actually a bit of a slow starter,) with a mute woman, who seems to live a simple life running a floating fishing resort - which I didn't realize such a thing exists despite having been to Korea several times. She ferries customers out to the basic floating bungalows and provides them with whatever they need while staying there including prostitutes and even fills in herself when such services are apparently unavailable.

One day, a man comes to stay at one of the bungalows and over time she and him develop a very dysfunctional relationship that takes many twists and turns including him bringing in another girl and making the mute manager.... let's just say.... very upset. I don't want to spoil the film for any of you out there with the stomach to watch it.

1.jpg
she isn't exactly "normal"

despite the fact that the film was largely panned in Korea, this film went on to be featured at multiple international film festivals where it caused some viewers to vomit or faint in the cinema.

2cap036.jpg
not gonna tell you what is going on here, but it was difficult for me to watch too

One of the things that caused quite a stir with viewers and critics both international and Korean is the scenes involving cruelty to animals, which the director insists are all real.

Roger Ebert praised the film for its cinematography but also said this:

"This is the most gruesome and quease-inducing film you are likely to have seen. You may not even want to read the descriptions in this review."

Overall I give it a 7 / 10 because it makes you think, the soundtrack is really good, the acting is top-notch by the main 2 characters, and because there is very little dialogue but you still know what is going on.

So I'm not going to encourage anyone to watch this movie. I only did so because it was on a list of "shocking Korean films" that i read somewhere. However, if you like to push the boundaries of good taste have a go! Just don't say I didn't warn you.

On a side note this film presents Koreans as being dreadfully incapable of swimming, which I know to be untrue.

As always, i welcome your comments and suggestions.

Sort:  

I have seen this one and I would summarise the story as "
A creepy, gruesome, gorgeous and flabbergasting treatise on romantic obsession and violent, nasty male-female relationships"... :-) I hope this helps...haha

I find that to be a perfect one-sentence summary. Well done!

haha... I know right.

"she isn't exactly "normal

Lol you simply had me at this line

After watching this preview, this movie is totally a good watch, the Isle, ive gotta get this, even the soundtrack is creepy, it looks like an innocent movie lol

The film starts normally, thanks to a normally silent woman @gooddream

The movie was really cool when it came out in 2000, Kim Ki-duk did a really good job in making the movie. I think it had over 6/10 in IMDb

The description went so well with the trailer , I think I might have the stomach to watch this smiles but I don’t think alone tho

its wow movie i think, great trailer, something is horror.

its movi I see,, its very good movi,

I will try and add it to the list of the films to watch too, I'm already convinced with your review since I watch the old boy... It's so awesome

The part I will not like to see is the part that is cruel to animals.. I love animals so much, I can't withstand them been maltreated...

wow, its awesome movie trailer...

in my opinion.
flm this is a romantic movie, i learned a lot in this flm about life and love from someone who normal with abnormal, but really romantic and love story which worth in teladani from physical abnormality. , yes :) ,,maybe this is just to add a mystical drama only.

Thanks for 5his @gooddream

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64476.22
ETH 3153.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54