The best dessert challenge - Chiang Mai edition.

in #getyerlearnon5 years ago

I rarely eat sweets of any sort. This isn't because I don't like them (what kind of a crazy person doesn't like sweets?) it is because I try to stick to a low carb diet and well, desserts are the opposite of that.

Last night I went a bit crazy and made 4 trips to the dessert section of the buffet. The staff of course didn't mind but a few of them did notice and made a joke about it (with me, not like being mean or anything.) Anyway, let the challengers enter!

54417771_629522474176841_5667438878714232832_n.jpg

Here we have some sort of crepe burrito looking thing filled with fruit, chocolate mousse, creme brulee, and an assortment of tarts and sweet breads. All terrible for you.

The first run resulted in this showdown.

55609160_366438313962655_8950630012852109312_n.jpg

I have fond memories of chocolate mousse from my childhood and this one was good but it was more of a dark chocolate, which i find less appealing than the other ones - so even though I ate it all, it lost to the incredible brulee. The crepe was nice but something about the sauce didn't really appeal to me. The winner of this round was definitely the brulee

54524336_521646781693709_2035095585203159040_n.jpg

Round two saw the addition of a raspberry tart and some creme puffs and of course our pal creme brulee. The tart was dry as hell and after one bite i was done with it, the creme puffs were amazing, and my second helping of brulee was just as wonderful as the first one.

round three's picture is missing because at this point I was in full sugar-rush mode but it involved a a mini fruit and cream pie of sorts (which was great but again the crust was so dry it was easily eliminated from contention) a piece of chocolate cream cake (a small piece but was basically the same taste as the mousse and I suspect actually was the mousse... all of these options were eliminated from contention by being quite "meh" in comparison to the others.

At this point I think i had consumed several thousand calories of desserts and was starting wind down, after one final trip to the buffet i decided on a winner.

55439567_476051752930741_7083631201277181952_n.jpg

The winner in a come-from-behind victory, narrowly edging out the creme brulee was monsignor creme puff. These bite size wonders had the absolute perfect blend of flavors for me and the creme was just out of the world. I think in the end I had 8 of them and I'm not even sorry. I am off to ninja school in an hour and have a 40km bike ride planned, that might help even out the damage. We'll see

Sort:  

That is hilarious. You show three plates of dessert and miss one. You then said you had 8 of those bite sized creme puff. Nothing wrong with that though as most likely you wont see a cake for 6 months again. 'I am the same and will work my way through eliminating the normal ones. Chocolate Mousse done properly with brandy can't be beaten, but who makes it like that today. Maybe I should make some again and do a post.

what kind of a crazy person doesn't like sweets?)

The same kind of sick fuck that loves eating black licorice I would imagine. Which is also basically the same thing as some kind of mutated troglodyte that lives inside of a sewer probably. P.S. Those desserts look god damn delicious.

it's always a joy to see what sort of poetic response you are going to make. Another winner!

Just keeping it real, my dood. Gotta find someway to entertain myself and others :)

My appetite for eating always comes when I see the pictures of food that you post.

That's mouth watering dish
And I love anything that is sweet. Very neat and clean picture also.

Posted using Partiko Android

Insulin stat! I can stay there the whole night and try each and every last bits of sugar.

Posted using Partiko Android

Gosh! You need to see a therapist!! You repress your desire for sweets too much!
See! What you are doing to yourself now! Absolutely out of control! Hahaha.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Believe it or not, there are people who don't like sweets. I don't understand them either but they do exist.
What you've shown to us here is heaven for those who love sweets and I'm one of them. Like you, I'm paying attention to what I eat because I want to lose weight but who can resist such temptation?
On the other hand it's ok to make an exception from time to time, that is permitted in my book.
My favourite is the last one. I used to make it because it's delicious but haven't had one for ages. Maybe it's time to make some.
Excellent presentation, well done!

I think the creme puffs probably would have been my favorite as well. There is something about the light dough and the rich creme that always hits the spot. Now you need to go on a couple of hash harrier runs to burn it all off!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56784.71
ETH 2392.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27