You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Y's book 1 and 2: I don't expect you to relate

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago

Thanks for elaborating on what i wrote. I just have fond memories of Y's and especially the music. Yes it was only on the TGx16 cd which one day me and my pal accidentally disconnected the CD drive from the unit while a game was going on only to discover that it was only playing the music, no data was being transferred from the CD unit as far as gameplay was concerned at all (what a sham!)... but it remains a great game from my childhood and I have fond memories of it. I am happy that you remembered it as well. :)

Sort:  

OMG. I would have flipped if I had dropped $400+ in late 80's money on a CD attachment only to find out that it was only used to really play music, even if only for that portion of the game. I am sure it loaded other areas as you progressed but who among us knew then that CD games "streamed" the data to the internal RAM?

I would have completely felt gypped had that been me.

I remember wanting a CD-ROM attachment bad but I held off because I did not have the TG-16 yet. I got one around 1993 or so - after the Duo was released. By then the CD attachment was long gone from store shelves.

Have you tried Neutopia I and II yet? They are very, very, reminiscent of The Legend of Zelda I on NES.

Shockman is very much a Mega Man clone as well if you are in the mood for something like that.

There are a ton of exclusives on the TG-16 that make the console more than worth collecting for. Too bad Konami, holder of those titles today, is not doing anything with them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66052.74
ETH 3320.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69