Phi-Phi Island: If you can deal with the crowds it's stunning

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago

It is pronounced "Pee-Pee" and it's ok to laugh. There is a "Poo" island nearby too but that is just a coincidence. Phi-Phi (and please don't pronounce it Fee-Fee, you are wrong and you sound dumb to the locals) is likely the most famous islands in all of Thailand.

one_day_in_koh_phi_phi_1.jpg
the two bays and main arrival area of Phi-Phi

For whatever reason, the water is extremely clear here year-round. There might be someone out there that knows why this is. I don't know why I just know that it is. On the mainland where i live some 25km from Phi Phi during the monsoon season our water takes on a lovely grey color for the most part. Phi Phi is not affected by this and therefore you can expect the perfect blue water year-round.

map-phiphi.gif

For commoners like us, you will have to arrive at the Tonsai Pier and pay a small cleaning fee to stay / visit the island. Don't worry, unlike the national parks this is not a rip off, it is like 20B. I knew a guy who was an executive at Agoda and he had much more money than time: He would land on the water in a small bi-plane right outside his resort and then get boated straight in (probably never even touched his suitcase.) I think i can presume most of us can not afford that.

Then you have to make a choice (and I highly recommend you do so before ever coming here as place sell out:) The hotels in the area between Tonsai and Lodalum bay have a wide variety of accommodation from $12 a night dorm bed to $1000 a night villas with private pool. This area is also where it tends to be the most crowded with day-trippers, which can be a problem if that sort of thing bothers you.

Tourist-Attractions-in-Southeast-Asia.jpg
It is rarely this bad, but a steady stream of speedboats from Krabi and Phuket can be expected

If this is something that gets on your nerves you may wish to stay over on the Lodalum Bay side because the day trippers tend to stick to the Tonsai Bay side - they aren't required to, it's just kinda what happens.

If you want ultimate privacy, you need to get a longtail boat (or speedboat if you are a fancy-pants) over to Relax Beach, Long Beach, or Laem Por - something on the East Side. These places are great because they have the same awesome water, but far fewer people and almost never any day-trippers. The Cove is one of my favorite resorts due at least in part to the fact that my Swedish pal is the manager there now. http://www.thecovephiphi.com/

The diving around Phi Phi is incredible and very accessible if you are already staying on Phi Phi, it will only take you 20 minutes or so to get to the dive site whereas the people arriving from Ao Nang and Phuket have to spend substantially longer in transit than your group. Normally the scuba companies will use this to their advantage and time their departures so that their customers can have the dive site to themselves. I suppose I shouldn't try to speak for every dive shop, but Blue View Divers did so when I was there and I appreciated this strategy.

The nearby Maya Bay is likely the most popular destination and tends to be extremely crowded. Again, the advantage that people staying on the island have is that they can time their arrival departure to dodge the crowds from the mainland. You will likely never have the place to yourself, but you can probably manage to only be sharing it was 10 other people if you are crafty.

I need everyone to know that Maya Bay will be closed from June 1st to September 30th of this year (2018) as the National Park Service is trying to correct some of the damage that mass tourism has caused to the island. This is just Maya Bay. The main hotel island and all the other dive sites will remain open.

maxresdefault.jpg

Sort:  

The water there looks absolutely amazing. When I was in Thailand, I had the pleasure of visiting Phuket (also very beautiful).

to be honest with you I prefer Phuket, probably because there is so much to do there. However, there is the traffic :(

Here is a sneak preview of my visit to Phuket!
IMG_0090.JPG

These are very helpful facts for someone who would like to go there! I've been there a couple of times and I never experienced the crowd to be that bad, but there are other places that are less crowded. And if you're not a big fan of hundreds of people then it's probably better to pick another island. I honestly enjoyed it a lot there, the water is stunning! :)

Pee pee... Lol
It's funny for the English but unfunny for the unenglish.. Lol

I love the water as clear as this, it shows it is been take cared of appropriately.

But $1000 is extremely high for a common man....

Incredible view, incredible diving, incredibly crowded! UGGGGGGGG I hate crowds. Like you said worth it to hire someone to take you to a different spot to dive and enjoy. Who the hell am I kidding anyhow… Quest likely I’ll never make it out that far away from home. Plus I have this fear of water so swimming maybe, diving most likely not. I’ll just bring my paint and paint on the beach while everyone else goes diving. LOL.

Every time I read Phi-Phi I chuckled... It is very distracting when trying to enjoy a post haha
It sucks that tourism is that much of a problem where they have to close an entire bay :( Does that happen often?

I love the sea and the beach, tha last photo ia my favorite. I would love to visit Thailand. Cheers

I have bookmarked the site you embedded in this post.

Am just speechless like Michael Jackson

This is so beautiful, the water, the topography, EVERYTHING IS JUST PERFECT.
Honey moon would make wave here. LOL

Seems Thailand has a lot of beautiful island, Phi-Phi Island is no different, the color of the water and the environment is beautiful. The crowd alone shows that people came to explore this beautiful island.

@gooddream honestly when I phi phi from the title I pronounced it fee fee, if not for your correction. Maybe if I was trying to tell a friend about this beautiful place and then he must have heard of it, he would have definitely laughed at me before correcting me.


I must say you are so fortunate to stay around phi phi, and I would love to see things myself. I hope one day I will have that opportunity to go there. And if it's possible I get to see you, I will definitely thank you for writing about the place because if not for this post I have never heard of phi phi.

Aside the funny name (pee-pee) the island is very beautiful, never knew Thailand had that much beauty. The accommodation has a wide range and is fairly affordable for all, and thats really cool too. Would put it on my list

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66924.37
ETH 3085.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71