NYC is over-rated in many ways

in #getyerlearnon5 years ago

This is probably a dumb article because everyone wants to go to NYC including the people that already live there. This city manages to captivate and attract most of the world to visit it via the fame it receives via music and reputation that it has garnered since as far back as I can remember.

What makes the big apple so captivating to people I wonder because although I like it there I don't think it is any better than any other massive city with a huge population. In many ways I think it is not as good.

EmpireStateNewYokCity.jpg

I fully expect to catch some flack for these words and I want you to understand that I am not saying them purely for the sake of being provocative or to get attention for saying it; this is truly my opinion: I think NYC is entirely over-rated.

For one thing, it is filthy. The place is just dirty as can be and this is most evident in the subways which from a global standard-perspective are just disgraceful. I mean they are really bad. Do the people operating the NYC subway not have access to cleaning products or do they just not give a damn?

14262424798_3aebb94c8e_b.jpg
this is not an abandoned station that only a select few photographers are allowed into, this is one of the major terminals

Having been in the subways and skytrains of many of the world's cities I can say without question that New York City has the worst one that I have ever seen. This doesn't mean that it is the worst on the planet because I haven't seen them all, but I have seen 25 or so and NYC is the worst out of that bunch. It is so filthy that when i do see a rat (and this happens all the time) I feel bad for the rat.


food

New York is home to any food you can imagine in the world. Many of these places are highly rated and sought after by people from all over the world. That being said - be prepared to pay an absolute fortune for anything that isn't pizza.

I went to all manor of restaurants while I was there and paid anything from $1 to $500 for something to eat (in a group, let's not get crazy as I am NOT rich) but from the cheap to the super expensive I have an overall "meh" impression about what i had to eat (again, pizza excluded - NYC has the best pizza in the world.) I honestly have no idea how it is that person will pay as much as is being charged for what they eat here (aside from pizza.) The people I know that live here get really excited about food items that I join them in eating and after they are elated and i am pretending that the food is even good at all I wonder if they are pretending.

bone-in-tomahawk-steak.jpg

A bone-in tomahawk steak can set you back a hundred dollars but if the person cooking it doesn't know WTF they are doing it is a waste of money. I had such an experience while eating at an absolutely packed steakhouse and then later that week had an $8 steak at a friends backyard that was much better.


too crowded

This probably comes as a given, but there are going to be masses of people everywhere you go all the time. Unless you are a bazillionaire you are going to be eating in a loud and crowded environment that has shifting temperature by the hundreds of people that are constantly coming in and out of the place.

crowded+restaurant.jpg

Look at those tables. The tables of 4, for the most part, are 2 separate groups of people that were likely thrilled to have a place to sit despite the fact that they are going to be bumping elbows with a complete stranger for the next 2 hours.

I have never experienced this in my life but at one point in a restaurant that was overpoweringly loud and crowded, i had to go outside because I was losing my mind from the experience inside. It was literally driving me to lose my mind. At the end of that meal every single one of us owed $100 to the restaurant in question and the food was average at best.

My friends in NYC sometimes laugh at how much I enjoy a $6 sandwich from Subway or some tacos from Taco Bell but this is the alternative? Give me the cheap stuff - at least then I can get the hell out of there in 10 minutes.


This could likely go on and on and it is not specific to NYC I just focus on that because it is constantly admired by people who most likely have never been there. Going and being there is a pain in the butt for sure and then unless you are going to pay serious cash you are always going to be packed in with loads of other people all the time.

Feel free to disagree with me but I have been there MANY times and each time I walk away with the same opinion - it simply isn't worth what it costs to be there and I can't understand why people do it. The place is dirty and crowded and the food is NOT better than other place (other than pizza.) I know that if it weren't for the fact that my friends live there and this is where my plane lands anyway, i would never return. Sorry New York!

Sort:  

I'd like to see NYC someday, mostly just for the shows.

That being said, I'm perfectly happy in the mid-sized city in flyover country where I live. I have a job in tech, my commute is 10 minutes, we can afford for my wife to stay home with the kids, the city is remarkably clean and you're never more than a few blocks from a city park. Crime is low, schools are good and while the food is surely not as good as what you can get in NYC, we can go out for a great dinner anywhere in town for under $50 (about $15/person for surprisingly good sit-down restaurants is pretty common). We have nearly any type of ethnic restaurant you could want, we have a performance venue that gets amazing acts from around the world and an arena for sports and big concerts.

People like to brag up their big cities, but smaller cities can be better in other ways. It just depends on how you like to live. I hate crowds, so you couldn't pay me to live in a big city.

I completely agree with you. I'm moving to Chiang Mai soon and I believe it falls into a category like you are describing. I hope it has a similar appeal

Posted using Partiko Android

The way I look at it, as long as I live close enough to experience the bells and whistles of a big city to travel there from time to time, its the best of both worlds. I'm fortunate enough to live an hour from a city twice as big as the one where I live, so when we do want to see more museums, a better zoo, a wider range of restaurants or go to the Alamo Drafthouse, its just a short drive.

Chiang Mai looks gorgeous btw.

I haven't been there but as usual heard a lot about its fame. I have been to Thailand twice and I'm in love that place. I will definitely travel more places around and will hopefully make a list of which is worthy and which isn't worthy.
Anyways I loved the way that you frankly poured out your feelings here. and your attraction to the pizza's there!
Keep flourishing.

Giving a detail regarding food , city condition regarding a cleaness and population is good but you are right people loce to go NYC and wants to see a life once in a life time . Overall good one. Namaste.

Posted using Partiko Android

There are better places in the world.
It is hyped, expensive, there is no fresh air. One thing is it is very lively.
I find European city’s are better.
Never been to eastern part apart from Bangkok

I think the movies and tv have contributed to that fame. By the way, the picture of the station and the mention of a rat reminded me the teenage mutant ninja turtles movie from 1990 (there you have another old movie to review if you haven't), I think the style of the stations hasn't change in all these years because it looks exactly the same.

Well, it's hard to believe, but when I saw the metro rail station, I amazed, even Indian metro stations (my country is famous for being dirty though! ) are much more clean and tidy than that. I guess the staffs there are not working properly.
A single bone-in tomahawk steak costs 100$ ! OMG! Is that made of gold? In here, you can even get a full goat roasted in a plate for that price, man, NY is expensive yo!
Now, I get it, If I ever go to NY, I have to survive only on pizza and soft drinks and beer!
😂

stay well and keep posting !

Posted using Partiko Android

I think your NYC plan is a good one!

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha! 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

The last time I went to NY was about 8 years ago. It was for business to Toy Fair at the Javits Convention center. It was an especially bad winter and disgustingly cold with knee deep snow.

The airport got shut down so we couldn't leave. All the hotels got booked because of it, and we got kicked out of our room because it was already booked by other people when we were supposed to leave.

We ended up in a ghetto area of Jamaica (where the subway looked like your photo) in a crappy motel. My wife got the flu.... so my NYC memories are not that great.

urgh... that sounds terrible.

I have never visited New York, what I have seen is only for photos, movies and TV. I think that, as in all Metropolis and more in New York, the flow of people, traffic, etc., must be stressful. For several people, I have heard what you say about the dirt and even the deterioration of the streets and roads. I regret that your food has not been to your liking. God bless you

thanks buddy... the pizza was awesome. :)

Honest review, for a change, thanks. I had my suspicions about NYC. (Still checking it out though. But will stick to pizza.)

Posted using Partiko iOS

stressy town...London is the same. I can recommend Katz’s Delicatessen, the best pastrami sandwich I ever eaten.

205 East Houston Street
(corner of Ludlow St)
New York City, 10002

good suggestion. I tried to eat at Kat'z several years ago but it was going to be 2 hours before we were served so we moved down the street to another Deli with (unsurprisingly) had nearly the same menu. It was the best pastrami sandwich i ever had also... :)

yeah I know, Katz’s is packed with people...but it was worth the waiting time.

Cheers !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70