my favorite 2600 game that is abolutely terrible

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago (edited)

If you are not my age it is absolutely impossible for you to you understand how much this game was both incredible for me as a kid and also horrible as me as a person now.

B_StarWarsEmpireStrikesBack_front.jpg

Before anyone gets worked up i want you to understand that this was 1983 or maybe 84 and we were just playing whatever they let us have at the time and this was probably the best game we had ever seen and wow, did we ever try to win this unwinnable game.

EmpireStrikesBack3.jpg

I want everyone to understand how unbelievably epic this game was given the time period. It was outstanding. I know it is not good now the same way that not being able to go to the moon just because you F**king wanted to in the 80's was silly. This game at the time was one of the best that we had available to us.

I haven't included other pics because they wouldn't be different. But you don't need another one. This game NEVER ENDED. It didn't matter how good you were, it would just carry on forever and ever. There has never been anyone that has ever found an ending to this game and that makes me feel better because I eventually gave up every time I played it also.


you don't really need to watch much of this video, just imagine the first sequence repeated over and over and over again. That was the game, that was the 80's.

Sort:  

What about this nightmare of an impossible game. If only I could have all of those hours back that I spent playing Raiders of the Lost Ark, I'd probably get another childhood. And maybe even some self confidence.

raiders_of_the_lost_ark_4.gif
I'd rather drink acid than fall down this again

I do love how he defiantly keeps his hands on his hips while plunging to his death.

hahaha, yeah, i watched a AVGN special about this game and it is amazing. They gave us zero information about how to play the game and it was hard, REALLY HARD. We also didn't have internet, maybe there was a guide book sold separately

Yeah, I played the hell out of it. And I tried everything in every combination. A couple of years ago I read a 'walk through' just for fun. Even that was so confusing and complicated that I still don't know how to win. Playing this game is like literally trying to find the actual Ark.

I had an Atari 2600.

It even still worked until last year, when my nephew borrowed it, cos he was on a retro kick, along with all my cartridges, and somehow destroyed it. I don't really mind, as I haven't used it in 30 years, so nothing lost really. I forgot I even had it.

But damn, I remember the joy of playing "Space Invaders." The moment I realized I could have an arcade experience in my own room at home, without putting a coin in an arcade machine.

In a way, the magic gained was magic lost, as the spending of the coin itself in the arcade made the game more precious. But in another way, the added time spent watching those weird lines of aliens endlessly progressing from side to side, as I shot them out the sides to delay their progress, dodging those bullets. Nothing compared.

Except "Asteroids!" Damn, that was a good game, the way the little triangle turned round, just in time to blow those massive boulders into bits. The carnage as the debris field spread. I love dthat game with a PASSION!

After Atari, before Playstation, I remember the Commodore 64, and the trading game "Elite." It was bigger than "Space Invaders" and "Asteroids." That was the absolute pinnacle of games: the traveling, the trading, the endless escape to another universe.

And then came Playstation 1, along with Tekken 2 and Tomb Raider. And the Commodore got lost, the Atari boxed. . .

. . Until my nephew asked to see it, reminding me of a forgotten childhood, of whiled away hours and adventures in space, still fresh after three decades in a musty old cardboard box in the attic. :)

Oh man... my hands and wrists twitched and ached from muscle memory after I saw that screen. The childhood trauma of frustration and anxiety (when the hell does it end...?).

A couple of hours playing this game and I was more than ready to go the hell outside and play.

haha, yeah exactly. I think that was one benefit of the 2600 games not being terribly complex, we still did stuff outdoors because it was more engaging.

Still nothing will ever be as bad as the E.T. game for Atari

you are not wrong about that.

Dude you beat me to it. haha. Try beating E.T. on the hard level

btw, I just remembered that the E.T. game was such a flop that Atari buried thousands of them them in the desert to get rid of them.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atari_video_game_burial

Atari video game burial
The Atari video game burial was a mass burial of unsold video game cartridges, consoles, and computers in a New Mexico landfill site, undertaken by American video game and home computer company Atari, Inc. in 1983. Up until 2014, the goods buried were rumored to be unsold copies of E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial, one of the biggest commercial failures in video gaming and often cited as one of, if not, the worst video game ever released, along with the Atari 2600 port of Pac-Man, which was commercially successful but critically maligned.
Since the burial was first reported in the press, there had been doubts as to its veracity and scope, leading to it being frequently dismissed as an urban legend.

Reminds me of heman, damn good times, Its amazing how much fun we got out of such simple things


oh wow. Good call buddy!

I remember this! Good times.

Hiii...gooddream

Great Post
My 100 % upvote for this post.

You are the early users of technology, we came later

and you will be in the same seat later pal.

epic game :)

Wlowwwwwwwsw s

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66