Logan (film): just ok

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago

The first part of this has no real spoilers, the second part, which i have marked, contains spoilers.

I should start out by stating that I am neither a huge fan of super-hero movies nor am I one of those people that hates them: I am something in-between. That being said, this movie had its moments but I wasn't terribly impressed with it.

logan-poster-3.jpg

I think one of the main reasons that this film had difficulty holding my attention is because for crap's sake how many movies are we going to have about Wolverine? There are only so many scenarios to involve him in and I had always thought they were going to overdo this the way they overdid Terminator to the point where I don't even want to see them anymore. I don't think I am alone in this thought process.

Logan (the film, not the person in it) is somewhat interesting as it shows a more human side of the mutants in Wolverine not really wanting to be a superhero anymore and Dr. Charles succumbing to old age and therefore Alzheimer's disease. There is a line in the film about something along the lines of "the person who has the world's most powerful mind is losing control over his mind" and I guess it was both interesting and strange to me that he, having the world's most powerful mind couldn't, i dunno, cure Alzheimer's or something that like that. It's a movie i guess.

This all becomes evident in the first 10 minutes of the film and is in the trailer and therefore I don't feel bad about mentioning it.

logan_still.jpg

Basically for me, this film seems to intentionally have dark overtones to it. Which normally I think is fine and an interesting twist on what we have become used to seeing from the X-men films. However, at more than 2 hours long I sincerely feel as though this movie had about 1 hour and 15 minutes of unnecessary filler in it. It is too long and I welcome long films if they have actual content that necessitates such a duration. I don't feel as though this film did and found myself groaning and thinking "just get on with it already."

logan munson prof x charles patrick stewart 2017.jpg
is your movie already too long? Why not have a relatively senseless 15 minute dinner sequence?

So basically I would say this movie is ok. Nothing particularly shocking as the good guys of course win again - bet you didn't see that coming. It has its moments but mostly the film is quite boring. Sorry X-Men fans, but that is my opinion and I am sticking too it.


the trailer is extremely well-done, makes me re-think my choice to rate this film....

6 / 10

FROM THIS POINT FORWARD THERE ARE SPOILERS THAT ARE MEANT ONLY FOR PEOPLE THAT HAVE SEEN THE MOVIE ALREADY.

50ef2f24f9668ef79a3ca631f1e5ef869e8106d2r1-1200-1197v2_hq.jpg
these are some of the reasons why the story lost some points - aside from being too long of course

  • does anyone else find it strange that Canada is a safe zone for mutant kids? Why? I mean, the company that chases them doesn't seem to be terribly impacted by any other laws so all of a sudden they are concerned about their ability to get visas? If this is explained in the film i missed it

  • Isn't it convenient that once again a train happens to be passing right when they are completely overrun by bad guys?

  • I think it is kind of a tired story to have a kid introduced into Logan's life and have him completely reject the notion and want nothing to do with it until the last minute. This is done far too often and the little girl was a good enough actor to make me misty-eyed when Logan is dying but I just feel like this was extremely predictable. Maybe I am being too harsh on them

  • That green stuff that heals Logan, no one even makes any effort to find any more of it after he is impaled on that tree trunk. Since the mutant catchers seemed to have engineered the stuff and one of the little kids they found was playing doctor with it, certainly there is some more of it lying around.

  • Why did the baddies wait until the kids were on the run in the woods before tracking them down? The drones were there the day previous. Did they just assume they wouldn't be able to get up that cliffside?

  • once again the rest of this post is stuck in < center > because i used a header tag "#" in order to increase the font size for the rating for the movie. I have tried several methods of getting back to left orientation but none of them seem to function if a header tag was used during the < center > ... any ideas?

Sort:  

I still haven’t seen this but I will do for sure, out of all of the superhero films/worlds I think xmen is my favourite. I do like wolverine for sure, but I understand what you are sayin... how many wolverine films and mentions can there Be!

Recently I have really fallen out with all of the marvel and superhero films, it was actually since captain America 3... it was just way too much! Too much going on, too many characters, too many stories etc, I know it sticks with comics but I don’t think that always translates into film aswell. That’s just my opinion though! :) I will always have a place for superhero films and always have time for them - they’re in my heart from a young boy haha!

i agree with you. It seem it is every month a new superhero film is coming out. They are almost always PG rated too so parents can offload their kids for a few hours haha

Even a 'really great' rating can't make me watch it. Theres just been too many X-men movies to last a lifetime... Am not watching another one

I still would watch a terminator movie though... Something about it just gets to me every time

You have good movie taste i like your taste

Marvel's 'X-Men' universe has come a long way since its debut on the silver screen back in 2000. 17 years later, audiences get to experience 'Logan,' the final chapter in the franchise as we know it. In 'Logan,' we have a much darker, grittier story in which Logan/Wolverine (Hugh Jackman) is faced with helping a young mutant (Dafne Keen) escape the anti-mutant strongholds of Mexico and the USA to Canada. In this sense, the film should not be considered a traditional superhero story, but instead a violent drama. There is much more of an emphasis on character development and dialogue as opposed to special effects and cheesy one-liners, as we see how the physical and emotional wear-and-tear that Logan has experienced over the years has finally taken its toll on him. There are also a few themes that are explored through 'Logan,' including perseverance, sacrifice and faith, which elevates the impact that the film has on audiences. Through all of these, it's really the metamorphosis that Logan undergoes as an individual based on the challenges he confronts that really puts an accent mark on the film.

While it's bittersweet to see this franchise likely end, 'Logan' is a worthy, respectable finale that does enough to satisfy fans.

I think it's worth starting with the fact that Wolverine will always remain in our hearts exactly in the performance of Hugh Jackman. He managed to breathe into the image of his character something very important. This incredibly talented actor gave to many of us exactly such a favorite superhero as we imagined him when reading comics. I do not know about you, but I can say for sure that I will never again get Wolverine to play someone else. For me, this era passed with the release of this film, which every fan expected with awe and reverence. I want to thank Hugh (let him never and do not read this comment) for the work done. It means a lot for fans, among which I enter.
You can think for a long time and talk about the character Logan as a person. He made a beast out of him, and the beast turned out. Nevertheless, Wolverine adapted to the normal world, and he even managed not to release claws once again.
What is before us in the movie "Logan"? Before the fans of the "X-Men" appears quite a gray-haired and "ageless" mutant. Endowed with wisdom for years, he learned to feel and even empathize (albeit a little) with people close to him. And the sudden heiress finally completely changed Wolverine.
The director of the picture James Mangold did not quite responsibly approach the end of the Wolverine franchise. The actors play is super, the plot is alas. Minus at least in the mechanical arm of Pierce. What is this and where does this happiness come from? They did not explain. Only thanks to the charisma of Boyd Holbrooke, the main villain is less seriously taken seriously.
Watch the movie or not? Fans have already gone to the movies and those who are not familiar with the franchise - I advise. The film teaches humanity.

I think this movie was great.Quite sad this is the last of the wolverine film actually.The plot and the characters really developed in this film and it's definitely one of my favourite films.

All end but waiting new announcement

Yes i watch this film i like it

This movie is so dope, exactly my kinda taste 👌👌👌

It is just a movie, it's not real. Let's just enjoy it. Unless you wish for the power of Wolverine. Just tell me, I'll get you to our lab and turn you into a cat 😋😂

I have more interest in movies than before.
I think you have convinced me for that.
Your posts are very much interesting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66137.20
ETH 3543.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56