Donnie Darko: It's good but...

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago

It's good but I'm not as gaga about it as the fanbois out there are. This film is actually studied (according to friends of mine that went to film school - which is a strange school in my opinion) globally as being some sort of ground breaking film. I'm not saying I don't like it, because it is a good film, but I honestly can't imagine why it is used as a staple in film school.

dc28c4a46789f1b85057c0116a72627b.jpg

The films stars a very young (yeah, we all were at some point) Jake Gyllenhaal and at least to me, it is the first time I recall seeing him in anything at all. The movie deals with Jake's character (who is named Donnie not surprisingly) and the doomsday visions he has surrounding himself and everyone around him. This all begins when an airplane engine lands in his bedroom while he is not in it. Later on Donnie is awakened and meets a terrifying rabbit costumed character that tells Donnie his name is "Frank"

5466191078_2deaafa006_b.jpg

a series of terrible events unravel mostly by Frank's suggestions and eventually this results in bad things happening to a lot of people including a person that Donnie cares about being killed. Then he shoots someone in the face who happens to be named Frank and is wearing a similar costume (it was a costume party) as "Frank" that has been haunting Donnie's imagination over the past month or so.

I'm not going to spoil the movie because you really should watch it. It is good. It actually wasn't released because a major part of the film is an airplane crash and this was right around the time that the Twin Towers thing happened in USA. It had a limited release and made its money back barely. It then when on to become a cult classic and made a bunch more money and is now considered one of the best independent films ever made.

Now this is where I part ways with the critical review. It is interesting, it is well-shot, it is spooky and it does make you think. However, I don't think it is one of the best movies ever made. It deserves accolades for being as good as it is on a shoestring budget but the fact that it is studied in film school doesn't make sense to me.

I know I am probably in the minority here and let me say again ... I LIKE THIS MOVIE.... I have watched it multiple times to try to understand what film professors might be harping on about, but i guess i just don't get it. Maybe it is because Patrick Swayze is in it.

so all right, bring it on people. rip me to pieces. Tell me why you think it is one of the best films ever made because i disagree.

Sort:  

This remains one of my favourite movies of all time. Everything about it - the dark humour throughout, the brilliant score, the atmosphere and building tension, the interesting characters populating the otherwise characterless suburban setting, the drama of the impending apocalyptic event, the subtle way in which the supernatural and the scientific are laced into the plot, and of course the immensely talented cast...
A shame it had such a limited theatrical release and didn't make more money - but I'm glad it has since been celebrated by critics and fans of cinema alike :)
Why are you wearing that stupid man suit?

Thank you very much :)

The trailer portrays more of a horror movie than a doomsday kinda movie, @gooddream i think youre still yet to grasp the concept of its making it guess, it looks weird to me though, anyway can't tell you why it is one of the best films ever made because am yet to watch it and am very sure i would agree with you and wouldn't like it either because am not a fan of horrors

It was a great movie for its time. I haven't watched it in a while, but better than the sequel S. Darko.

trailer its really so nice.. its very different movie like it movie story thank you for share this movie @gooddream its really old video 2001 but every old movies amazing your choice gooddream se nice :)

I haven't watched it as yet but the plot seems somewhat similar to Final Destination.

Well i am also one of those in the minority who are of the view that the movie is good but probably not the best. Iam actually not offending that it is the best movie made in low budget but not actually the bwst of all. I really dont understand the fact that it is being studied in schools. I couldnt figure out why is it the best?

I love this movie gooddream, from the preview it looks awesome, totally my kind of movie! I have a story im writing that relates to this its awesome, the part one is out on steemit, this movie will do a lot

please let me know when you release it

Hi gooddream. Not up there as a must watch film in my books. Never finished watching this one as thought it was crap.

This is a movie you can watch multiple times and still don't get it..

This is a movie
You can watch multiple times
And still don't get it..

                 - tesaganewton


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

It seems a good movie. It is good that you have not told full story of it and stopped in a middle. Is its story related to aliens or something else ? @gooddream

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 64050.44
ETH 2502.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65