You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sixteen Tons Part 1: How Coal is Formed

in #geology7 years ago

Great post. I'm originally from Cape Breton Island, which is a quaint island off of Nova Scotia, and happens to be representing the Upper Carboniferous with much pride. Coal was a huge industry there in the day but the roots of its ancient past are still quite present.

You could throw a rock any area with some ocean erosion and find giant chunks of Anthracite, and any number of nondescript fossils. A closer inspection would allow you to uncover some fern impressions, Chunks of Calamites sp ,trace chunks of what we used to call "coal wood", and many other types of evidence from that time period.

I actually have a pretty good representative selection of fossils from the area which I rescued from waste rock piles over the years. I used to report them to local fossil centers, and the university but they were never interested. I would usually save them the fate of becoming armor stones, fill for roadways, gravel, etc..

You may have inspired me to share some posts of my mineral and fossils specimens collected from Canada and the US . Kudos.

Sort:  

You definitely should share them! It'd be a good thing to post one of every day along with whatever other post you do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.45
ETH 2345.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47