Fossil & Mineral Collection: Calamites sp.

in #geology6 years ago

I've been wondering what to blog about for a while now and after some encouragement from fellow steemit users I figured I would start doing some regular posts of my collections. I've been a rockhound for about a decade now and  have collected fossil and mineral specimens from all over the US and Canada. I also have a bit of a habit of rescuing "rock collections" from antique and estate sales which has landed me some beautiful, but unidentifiable, specimens from around the world. 

Until I get used to the, rather limited, editor on steemit I will be doing smaller posts like this. I may have to take some tutorials on the basics of HTML as it isn't a simple drag and drop system as I've been used to. 

Note: All fossils and minerals I have obtained have been done so legally. Please check your local laws on the obtaining and transport of fossils/minerals. I would also suggest contacting local fossil centers, museums, or universities as they can be helpful in traversing the legalities of collecting as well as be a helpful source of information for identification. 

The following specimens are all Calamites sp. collected from around Nova Scotia. These selections were saved from being crushed for a construction project. There was a particular specimen which was 6 feet long and would have been great in any museum but my calls to the local municipality, the province, and universities all went ignored and this large fossil was ultimately destroyed. 


Crappy photography is my own.

More about Calamites sp and coal forests of the Carboniferous: 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calamites

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coal_forest

https://www.nationalgeographic.com/science/prehistoric-world/carboniferous/



Sort:  

Your post has been personally reviewed and was considered to be a well written article about geology!
You received a 10.0% upvote since you are not yet a member of geopolis.
To read more about us and what we do, click here.
https://steemit.com/geopolis/@geopolis/geopolis-the-community-for-global-sciences-update-3
If you do not want us to upvote and comment on your posts concerning earth and earth sciences, please reply stop to this comment and we will no longer bother you with our love ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57184.88
ETH 3097.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41