You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Geology of the Oldest Mountains in the World: Vol. 1 - Appalachian Mountains

in #geology7 years ago

The Appalachian's remind me a little of the Australian Great Dividing range, although the Great Divide is so low in parts it's hard to tell it is there at all!

Sort:  

Honestly, my knowledge of Australia from a geological perspective is somewhat limited, with the exception of a mountain chain or two. If I remember correctly, it's the Hamersley Range in Australia that also competes for the title of being the oldest mountain range in the world. With that being said, it looks like I'll be writing about the geological landscape of Australia fairly soon!

No pressure @Keephy! The Great Divide I suspect have very different mechanism at play in comparison with the Appalachian's even though the 2 are similiar in height. I know there are a lot of ancient extinct volcano's along the Divide, that have been eroded down to reveal the basalt cores which gives the range a distinctive appearance. There seems to be very little current activity in the Great Divide except down in the South, where supposedly there has been some recent orography and volcanism.

Apparently the Great Divide is a fairly complex geological terrain. There would appear to be a number of mountain ranges in the divide. From the pictures I've seen, they do look very similar to the Appalachians in parts.I've read about the Snowy Mountains a bit in the past. I noticed you write about astronomy! I'll have to give you a follow since I have a keen interest in astronomy. Are you excited about the Webb telescope?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57372.40
ETH 2456.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41