You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Geology of the Oldest Mountains in the World: Vol. 1 - Appalachian Mountains

in #geology7 years ago (edited)

No pressure @Keephy! The Great Divide I suspect have very different mechanism at play in comparison with the Appalachian's even though the 2 are similiar in height. I know there are a lot of ancient extinct volcano's along the Divide, that have been eroded down to reveal the basalt cores which gives the range a distinctive appearance. There seems to be very little current activity in the Great Divide except down in the South, where supposedly there has been some recent orography and volcanism.

Sort:  

Apparently the Great Divide is a fairly complex geological terrain. There would appear to be a number of mountain ranges in the divide. From the pictures I've seen, they do look very similar to the Appalachians in parts.I've read about the Snowy Mountains a bit in the past. I noticed you write about astronomy! I'll have to give you a follow since I have a keen interest in astronomy. Are you excited about the Webb telescope?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58054.32
ETH 2357.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42