You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Dolomite Problem

in #geology6 years ago

cool article. I was raised quite close to the Italian border (and thus the dolomites), but didn't know they were a scientific mystery till today.
To me, the bacteria theory is most convincing.

Sort:  

Nice, did you spend much time visiting them? They're really far up my to-do list.

Yeah, the bacteria theory is a strong contender right now.

I saw them close-up multiple times and went hiking there on one or two occasions, especially in the part of the dolomites that are in South Tyrol, which belonged to Austria till WW1 and is thus mostly occupied by a german-speaking minority.
There are some quite impressive formations, but I guess they are even more impressive for a geologist. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57515.20
ETH 2438.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34