You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Effects Geological Features Have On Climates: Mountains & Rain Shadows

in #geology6 years ago

why is it that some mountains produce this rain shadow, while others don't seem to do? I grew up in the alps, and never had the impression that one side suffered from less rain or snow. Is it because the wheater can come from both sides? Or are they not high enough?

Nice write-up btw, upvoted/followed

Sort:  

Hey there! Thanks for the upvote and follow. I gave you a follow back as well. As for your question– From what I understand, the Alps in all likelihood don't suffer from a significant rain shadow effect due to the flow of the jet stream. It's bring warm air from the Atlantic heading south and then dips into the Mediterranean, switching to a northward trend afterwards. This would bring more warm air and moisture along with it, causing the process to happen again, but from a south to north trajectory. With that being said, I would assume that northern Italy has some form of rain shadow, but only seasonally. My only conclusion as to why this may be the case, is because Italy is well known for their grapes grown in the northern regions of the country. You'll typically see grapes grown in Mediterranean climates, which have an arid climate during the summer time. With that being said, I'll have to dig deeper on this topic. Maybe I'll touch up on this a bit more and have Europe and the Alps be the focus!

when it comes to grapes, I have to tell you we grow them in south-eastern austria aswell ;-)

But ty for the answer!

Well, that actually makes a lot sense. South eastern Austria has longer and warmer summers compared to the rest of the country– comparable to a Mediterranean climate. When I write my next post on this subject, I'll be sure to tag you. Thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69947.15
ETH 3908.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71