We went to the Lubbock Gem and Minerals show last weekend

in #geology6 years ago (edited)

I'd like to share a funny little story.
My wife Andrea has been wanting to get a new bed for weeks now. I had been content with the Sleep Number bed we currently have. I have a bad back and the Sleep Number has been the best thing for it. But it is 13 years old and there have been some minor issues with it. Recently, Andrea got a nice little bonus from her job and immediately said she wanted to use some of it to get a new bed. Well, to get a Sleep Number, we had to go to either Albuquerque or Lubbock. No Sleep Numbers in or near Roswell NM. So we first decided on taking the trip to Albuquerque. As we were planning this, I casually mentioned we could check out some of the rock shops there (being the rock hound that I am). Immediately, Andrea said "No, we're not making this about rocks!" So then we planned for Lubbock. As we were preparing for the trip the night before I mentioned that if we were to buy a rock or two we could make it a business trip and get a partial write off. She agreed and we began looking for rock shops in Lubbock. No rock shops in Lubbock but there is a rock club there. I asked a friend if she could give me a number or two of members she knew from that club. She would, but then asked if I knew that there was a Rock & Gem show going on there that weekend.
What an irony!
20180505_143101.jpg
So, after bed shopping, we were off to the show. There were twenty two vendors and plenty of displays to admire.
The following are some of the vendors we got to meet and do business with.
20180505_144047.jpg
20180505_143154.jpg
This gentleman is cutting and polishing rock spheres that he sells.
20180505_142804.jpg
20180505_145639.jpg
Kieth has just finished cracking an amethyst geode for a young man.
20180505_151934.jpg
Photo op....
20180505_152011.jpg
These are the president of the Lubbock Gem & Mineral Society , Mike and his wife.
20180505_155028.jpg
Sorry about the blurriness.
The name of our Store is "Ancients of Days" My first choice was "Rocks of Ages"
20180505_145734.jpg
The name was already taken :-)
This little booth is run by a young lady named Rebecca.

Here are a few of the displays that were there.
20180505_151610.jpg
Amethyst Cathedrals
20180505_151707.jpg
Dinosaur bone - Fossils are my first love.
20180505_151624.jpg
Fossils and shells
20180505_151746.jpg
Thunder eggs - Close relative to geodes.
20180505_151649.jpg
There many other displays and pictures, but I'm sure I've lost a few viewers by now so I'll save the rest for another post.
In closing, we had a great time and spent way too much money. :-D
Check back tomorrow to see yet another micro- crystal and possibly an entertaining short story about room 120.

Sort:  

Gotta love that irony.

You've got me curious. What's the difference between a thunder egg and geode?

We almost got a sleep number bed last time we replaced our mattress, but just couldn't justify the price tag. No buyer's remorse on your end, I take it?

The irony was great. I laughed for a good minute when it happened. I started to type a whole dissertation on the difference between a geode and a thunder egg. After about close to 100 words, I realized; this is another blog. Suffice it to say that they are extremely similar. It's how they are formed that is the difference. Any other info you will have to look for on an upcoming blog.
As far as the Sleep Number goes ; it is more a necessity than a luxury. I have chronic sciatica. laying down at night causes me great discomfort. I have to take three medications (not opiate related)to keep the pain to a point where I can sleep. I also need a bed that I can adjust the firmness to accommodate the levels of stress my back has endured that day. Sleep Number gives me that. We bought what they call a smart bed. It actually monitors pressure and stress points my body is in when I lay in different positions and adjusts accordingly. We had to order the bed and yes, it is pricey, but you would be amazed what you will pay for a good nights sleep. We are waiting for it to be delivered and assembled. We will see then if it is worth it. I'm confident given the experience I've had in the past with them.
Thanks also for the conflict of interest notice. I didn't even think about that. If something works for me I'm happy to say so. However, in this case it was just about the story.

I appreciate the sleep number advice - my wife has terrible insomnia, so we may look into this. I'm glad you were amused by the disclaimer.

I'm holding off on googling thunder eggs (which is a great term, btw), so I'm hoping you'll write that post. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99