Still more interesting minerals in our collectionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #geology7 years ago

I found a way to access some photos from my collection that I previously was unable to post. Posting on this site is still a learning process for me.
DSCN0585.JPG
Some igneous rocks. Starting from top left and going clockwise: Lava flow from "Valley of Fires" in NM., Mahogany Obsidian- popular for its red banding, A very unique specimen of Rainbow Obsidian (one of my more treasured pieces), and Black Obsidian (the most common).
DSCN0603 (1).JPG
A peridot "bomb" from Demming NM. It too is igneous mineral. They are called "bombs" because when they were spewed from a volcano and hit the ground, they would explode. The small pieces in the foreground are facetted crystal that are popular in jewelry.
DSCN0800.JPG
A Blooming Onyx or Chrysanthemum Onyx. (self explanitory)
DSCN0996.JPG
Red Dogtooth Calcite Cluster (another of my favorites).
20171209_134536.jpg
Blue Phantom Halite from the potash mine in Carlsbad NM Again my favorite among the halites.
I will continue to post different and unique minerals as I find them or they find me :-)

Sort:  

I am so glad I caught this to enjoy your beautiful specimens. Love the Peridot! Glad to see you found a way to upload your photos. Beautiful, Happy New Year to you.

I'm glad you enjoy them. As long as there is an interest, I will continue to post more. The holidays were a little hectic and had a death of a friend. Now I will have a little more time to focus on my photo library and get out some of the more interesting specimens we have.

Oh my gosh that Rainbow Obsidian is beautiful!!! I've never seen it half carved/polished like that! Love it!

Awesome!

Thank you. it is truly a beautiful piece.

Beautiful! Just curious, what are these rocks worth?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74