Rock & Gem show diplays 2016

in #geology7 years ago

I going through more pictures that I have buried deep in the memory banks. These displays are from the 2016 rock & Gem show here in Roswell NM. DSCN0470.JPG
This is my fossil display that won 1st place peoples choice award three years in a row.
DSCN0468.JPG
My geode collection put on display.
DSCN0472.JPG
My crystal collection also in a display. I have to admit, these collections look better in the displays than they do on my shelves at home.
DSCN0509.JPG
Here is an excellent display from the NM Bureau of Land Management. I'm not a big fan of their attempts to close off natural resources to rockhounds who love to go out hunting for cool rocks themselves. Why should they be able to get all the really cool pieces? :-O
I'm finding more and more pics as I try to clean out and arrange my cache. I also have big news in an upcoming post.

Sort:  

interesting , thanks for sharing .How long have you been collecting them?

You ever go to tucson show?

Every year I tell myself I am going to treat myself to that trip for my birthday. and every year something comes up and I can't go. When I do finally go, I intend to stop through Quartsite as well.

My rock collection is clearly a geologist's collection- any rockhound would just be puzzled at half the stuff in my collection. (My most prized rock is also one of my blandest looking- it's just a hunk of basalt in an odd shape. Specifically, it's a volcanic bomb- a hunk of molten magma launched into the air that spun and begin to harden during flight.)

It's not all about pretty rocks. Some of the most notible collections I have seen have rocks that on the outside don't look like anything at all.

I have been doing the same with mine. Also collect tons of rocks and need to start digging thru them and doing photo shoots.

Great idea. The more people that start posting this exciting hobby, the more interest will be generated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62978.31
ETH 2546.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76