Nature Identification Thread #8- Now Paying out Steem Basic Income Memberships to Participants

in #geology6 years ago (edited)

It's time for the weekly nature identification thread! Post pictures of plants, animals, rocks, or other cool stuff that you've photographed but can't identify, and I, along with anyone else who would like to help, will try and help you identify it. I'll be making some changes to it- most notably, I'll be using the SBD proceeds from this post to give out @steembasicincome memberships to people who post stuff to be identified or help me identify photos.

image.png
The Vampire Finch. The vampire finch, native to the Galapagos islands, is one of Darwin's famous finches. The vampire finch likely evolved its blood drinking habits to compensate for the extremely dry, arid conditions on its native islands- it gets most of its nutrients from nectar, seeds, and the like. You don't have to worry about it drinking your blood- it only targets other birds like the blue-footed boobie, which... really don't seem to mind, weirdly enough. The vampire finches likely started out pecking parasites off the larger birds, a valuable service, before transitioning to vampirism. [Image source]

Remember: The most important information you can give along with any photo to be identified is its geographical location. This narrows down the range of possibilities more than any other info you can provide.

Plants:
Along with the photo, add where you found it, the time of year, the approximate altitude, and any interesting scents or textures not caught in the photo.

Animals:
Along with the photo, add the location you found it, the time of year, the sounds it made, any interesting behaviors, and any other features not caught well in the photo.

Rocks:
Along with the photo, add the location you found it, a description of the terrain it was found in, whether it was attached to a rock outcrop or found loose on the ground or buried in the soil, a description of its texture (especially its grain size), and a description of its weight and density. Fossils are included in this category.

Fungi:
I will not be identifying mushrooms and fungi for the most part unless I can point to it and go "Yeah, that's poisonous." I will definitely not be identifying edible mushrooms. Mushrooms should really only be identified for foraging purposes in person and by an expert. If another contributor wishes to identify them, that's their call, but I encourage them to be similarly cautious. I might also identify a few fungi that are clearly not being looked at for the purposes of eating, but that'll be a case by case decision.

@snowyknight and @nostone-unturned both earned @steembasicincome memberships for submitting to the last nature identification thread!


Bibliography:

Sort:  

I'm not good with plants but I hope you have suggestions. This is what is commonly called the lady's slippers but I would love to know the Latin binomial. Flower should be around three inches from the bottom to the top.

20160323_082313.jpg

I took this photo at roughly around 1500 meters above sea level in an island called Sibuyan in the Philippines last March 2016. They say that flora in Sibuyan Island is quite different from its neighboring islands and thus giving rise to theories on how the island might have evolved over the centuries. It is also sometimes called the "Galapagos of Asia" because of its isolation and high rate of endemism.

That's Paphiopedilum hennisianum, a type of orchid often confused with pitcher plants.

Oh wow, that's a beautiful plant! Really reminds me of the very rare Cypripedium calceolus that we have here in Norway.

I often find these little guys in my garden (in Greenville, South Carolina) around this time of year. In this photo, this snake appears to be large, but these snakes are only about 6 inches long and about half an inch in diameter. I think it is just a brown snake, but many of the ones I find have a reddish color so I am not sure. Any ideas?

snake-1.jpg

...and here are a few more of them. All of these seem a little more brown, but I think they are the same. One other noticelable characteristic is that the markings are heavy on the first half of the body, but fade off toward the tail.

snakes 064.JPG

I'm genuinely stumped! @herpetologyguy might know, I dropped him a line to see if he could ID it.

I do know what it is! It is a brownsnake, also known as a DeKay's snake! They do vary in color a bit but your best bet for identification is that they generally have a lighter stripe running down the back with paired black dots running down either side of the stripe!

Awesome! Definitely going to be summoning you for more tricky reptile IDs like this one in the future!

Thanks so much! I thought they were brown snakes, but the color variation had me questioning that. It is good to know what they are since we seem to have a lot of them in our garden. According the Wikipedia page for DeKay's snake, they "primarily feed on slugs, snails, and earthworms." That explains why I always find them when I am weeding or planting.

Thanks! We'll see what he has to say.

unknownswampplant.jpg
Not exactly marine, but close, since underneath is all water. This was taken at Lettuce Lake Regional Park in Florida the last time I was there.

Sweet! Why didn't I think of a water hyacinth?!

Haha awesome post! There's a bird I see every once in a while, I managed to grab a picture. Location is a few miles east of Seattle Washington, the red shoulders are so brilliant and I wonder what this bird is ![E7C3A820-DAB8-4DEE-91DA-A82C285CDB01.jpeg](

It's a male red winged blackbird. (Creative name, I know.) Very pretty birds, I see them sometimes down here in Oregon as well.

Awesome and thanks! I googled to double check and wow that's exactly it! Haha

This sounds fun! I want to help identifying marine creatures, not because I know a lot of them but because I have a few books to check out possible species name. Exciting!

Very cool, thanks!

Got one for you up above!

P6220429.JPG

What is this? Note hammer for scale.

Photograph is my own...

...Is that a lump of water-worn foam/plastic? Cause it sure looks like it. If it isn't, and actually got dumped there by wave/ storm action, uh... I guess it could be a badly water-worn marble boulder or something?

Good observations.

But... it is a boulder-sized block of rock.

It is locally-sourced. And there is no marble nearby... but excellent observations! The red-stained areas help provide additional clues...

I'll add my two cents to marine flora and fauna... Maybe some marine rocks too.

And coastal flora and fauna that can be found in marine-coastal habitats.

¡Hola!


Tome esta foto en La Azulita, Estado Mérida, Venezuela. A unos 1.800 msnm. No se que clase de flor es

Mirabel y Sinaral, Mayo 2012 051.jpg

English, please! (I can speak spanish- badly- but I'd prefer people looking through the comments not have to translate it.)

@mountainwashere This is such a great idea! I will definitely participate when I can. What a great initiative.

Thanks @mountainwashere ! Good people like you are building things here! Good on you and have a nice day!

Thanks, you too!

No worries. But I'm terrified of camping out anywhere near that vampire bird!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65178.97
ETH 3261.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68