Dolostone in the field

in #geology6 years ago

IMG_2703[1].JPG
Today we looked at an outcrop of dolostone. We call it dolostone because it is a big chunk of dolomite. What's really cool about dolomite is that it reacts with acid which makes it easy to identify if you have an acid bottle in the field. The way to make the rock react is to grind it down a little so that it is in the form of tiny grains. It will not usually react if you just apply the acid. If it does react when you just apply the acid without grinding it down then it could be calcite. With calcite the reaction is much stronger. When I am talking about a reaction I am talking about some form of fizzing. These rocks have also been tilted as you can see from the photo. Lets just say hypothetically the north was straight up. Then the rocks would be pointed north-east.
IMG_2706[1].JPG
In this picture of the dolostone there are tiny streaks of another rock that we call veins. These veins are usually of different composition. While the actually rock is dolomite I think that the veins could either be quartz or even calcite.


I also got to see a train go by which I thought was pretty cool. What an engineering feat to be able to pull that much weight.

Sort:  

This post rocks! I wanna throw some acid on rocks and make em fizz

lol geking

Now I have an idea for another science project to put together for my insatiable 8-year-old ;D This is pretty awesome. Thanks for sharing, and, yay for trains! Lol. I am wondering what was your purpose for studying this outcropping? Were you surveying? Something else? Just wondering.

Its for my field methods class that I am taking. Hopefully one day I will be surveying for the government or something. I am graduating this spring and trying to find a job

Nice post! We usually encounter big limestone outcrops here in my area. I've only ever seen a dolomite from my laboratory class. If you could have done an acid test on the veins, I think you would be have a better idea if it were quartz or calcite! Then maybe a hardness test if it didn't effervesce, just to see if it's quartz or plagioclase.

Will definitely look forward to your other posts! I'm glad to see geology content here!

Thank you, I could make a thin section and look under a microscope but I suck at making thin section haha

Making a thin section is the worst haha especially the polishing part! I'd rather digitize maps than do that.

I always have a hard time not cracking the actually glass that holds the sample

I agree! That's the hardest, especially when the sample is already super thin

Hey there! I just wanted to say thanks for the follow. I gave you a follow back as well! I'm glad to see there are more geologists here on Steemit. Be sure to check out @geopolis and join the discord. It's a great way for people with similar interests (in this case Earth sciences) to network and help each other out. Keep up the good work!

Yea they sent me a message but I wasn’t sure if it was worth joining

Very cool! Where is this?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67292.64
ETH 3242.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64