You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rockhounding the reservoirs...bounties of treasure(if you consider rocks treasure)

in #geology7 years ago

That was a nice haul. I find some amazing orbicular jaspers at this reservoir I go to. The lake that is closer has crystals but no rockhunting is allowed. Pretty lame lol... I'll be sure to follow to see what you find next.

Sort:  

Thanks for checking out my post! Orbital jasper seems like a pretty good haul. We have a lot of jasper around here and I love looking for the really unique stuff. No crystals?!?! There's gotta be some cool quartz somewhere? Too bad about the stuff at the lake. Is it a claim or just an ordinance? We have a quartz mine not too far from here but rumor has it that it's the claim of someone not too keen in sharing.
Looking forward to following you...off to see your feed right now :)

Here's taste of the Stony Creek Poppy Jasper.

That's beautiful! Thanks for sharing. Love the shape you chose. Most of the stuff I do is random shapes. I'm so impatient with measuring and trying to keep structure, lol. I just let the rocks show me the way. My pictures are all over the place on misc. electronic devices but to get some lapidary stuff up here soon.

I mostly do freeform designs myself. Like you say the rock just kinda tells me what it wants to be.

It's a state park so your not allowed to collect any geological artifacts. I've a few places where I can find some loose single cystals near town.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58416.09
ETH 2514.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34