Petrified Whale Bone

in #geology7 years ago (edited)

These are some of the amazing pieces of petrified whale bone I have found. As you can see the cell structure is very different in these fossils. I'm not a geologist or a paleontologist but I would love to know what types of whales these came from. For lack of a better term I call the type closest to the camera "the brain." This is exactly what they look like when I find them at the beach. These particular one's came from California but I'd keep my eye out at any beach. You never what you might find. Whether it's pirate treasure or a sand dollar, you'll probably find something interesting. Here is a slightly larger piece of whalebone with a partially made ring on top of it. Most of the pieces I find are pretty small, so you have to have a keen eye. The largest one I found is about the size of a baseball. You may have noticed some of these agates in the picture with the ring. They are called "oil agate" and they come from the very same beach. I've spent countless hours scouring the beaches for gemstones and fossils. Makes me miss living closer to the coast. My favorite one's have little dark spots inside that remind me of Montana Agate. When you find them they look like they are freshly polished in a rock tumbler. Glad I don't have to wait a million years when I'm polishing rocks. The ocean has a bit more patience than I do apparently. If you enjoyed the blog be sure to Upvote, Follow, and Resteem. https://www.mygypsystore.com/store/dirty-hippie-designs/ Here's a link to my online shop. Lot's of fun treasure's to be found in there. 💰

Sort:  

beautiful pictures! I love the oil agates. Another one of my favourites are moss agates. My friend has one with a bug or a leaf inside. I can't remember which. I'll have to take a picture of it next time I'm at his house

I love moss agate too. Look forward to seeing your friends pieces. I've got a couple slabs I to need to cut some cabochons from.

Beachcombing is the best. So relaxing next the ocean looking for treasures.

I hear that. The waves keep me on toes though lol.

It's all about the low tide ;)

Oh I know, a negative low tide after a good storm is the best. I'll have to them but I have a few petrified sand dollars I found at a different beach. Pretty neat

Now that was trippy! I was looking over your
awesome rocks @dirtyhippie! and then I noticed
you followed me! Wow now that was cool cause I
was going to follow you also, I like your rocks! :-)
Will be looking for some of that whale bone next
time we beach hunt! 💎

I found your post of beach rocks and started following you. You've found a nice collection, hope you get some whalebone. Helps to know what it looks like at least lol. Some of it's black even.

This post has received a 0.86% upvote from thanks to: @dirtyhippie.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.100 SBD to bid for votes.


Do you know, you can also earn daily passive income simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper by clicking following links: 10SP, 100SP, 500SP, 1000SP or Another amount

This post has received a 3.57 % upvote, thanks to: @dirtyhippie.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48