What is that?

in #geology6 years ago (edited)

I've had this genuine crystal ball since I was about ten years old. I'm a rock hoarder without a doubt. I've literally thrown away furniture moving to a new place, just so I could have more room for rocks. The rock being magnified by the crystal ball is a fire agate. It's a very beautiful gemstone that flashes different colors like an opal. A friend was nice enough to gift me this amazing specimen years ago. It's a pretty large piece for a fire agate. I'll try to capture some better photographs of it outside one of these days. This is a piece of raw Fire Agate. The bubbly crust is referred to as botryoidal, in geological terms. The colors of this particular gemstone is nicely complimented in a gold setting. I have a small ring size gem I may make a gold ring for in the near future. Keep your eye out for that! As always #upvotes #resteems and a good old fashion #follow is greatly appreciated.

Sort:  

@dirtyhippie !!!!
Your publication has been successfully shared, with more than 2538 Steemit users thank you for participating in the last edition of free reestem.
If you find my project useful, donate a vote to my comment

You have quite the collection! The fire agate reminds me of a geode. We find a few of those around here.

I like how you magnified the rock with the crystal ball! Very cool!

That's neat i've only found a couple random geode's here in California. I need to get down to the Mohave desert. There's some good ones down there. The crystal ball is pretty fun to play with. Makes for some really interesting photo's.

Love fire agate!!! I went to a rock sale a few years back of a real deal rock hoarder. Their entire backyard was piled with rocks they had hounded, selling for 50 cents a pound!!!(disaster for me) I was about ready to leave and looked around one of the outbuildings and found a scattering of fire agate. It was the second day of the sale so I'm sure the really good stuff was picked, but still walked away with some really nice specimans.

Sounds like a wonderful day. I had coworker years ago that was selling her house. I inherited a couple hundred pounds of great material. That fire agate was one of the pieces the old timer found. I've got a crate that'a about half full of thundereggs from the same stash.

Could you remove this link please.

done sorry i bothered you enjoy your life

Thanks I appreciate it, wasn't trying to be rude or anything.

found you in post permotion thought you wanted upvotes i even resteemed yours i liked the pictures but thats fine i cant un resteem it but i took the vote off sorry to have bothered you

This post has received a 0.92% upvote from thanks to: @dirtyhippie.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.100 SBD to bid for votes.


Do you know, you can also earn daily passive income simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper by clicking following links: 10SP, 100SP, 500SP, 1000SP or Another amount. (10 SP minimum)

Release the Kraken! You got a 9.33% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @dirtyhippie!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dirtyhippie from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56662.37
ETH 2982.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15