You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hawaiian volcanoes - Part 10: Volcanic Air Pollution

in #geology6 years ago

Volcanoes are dangerous things for several reasons, but the pollution you are talking about is hard to fix because its natural, I mean, there is little that we can do about it.

Sort:  

Yeah, there is nothing we can do about it. We can only prepare ourselves to handle the danger. Or avoid it, if you're just a tourist :P

We can cloud seed.

Which helps clean the air with additional precip coming out of clouds when it rains.

But, not sure that is such a good idea. Ever seen or read Snowpiercer?

:P we can, yes, we just need to develop the proper method. I wouldn't play with things that are not fully understood.
And yes I have seen the movie. Pretty good movie.

I have never heard of cloud seeding before. Thanks for bringing my attention to it. I will need to read a little into that to form a proper opinion. On the first glance I can see how it might help against acid rain but I believe vog would still be a problem.
What are your thoughts?

And I have seen Snowpiercer a while back but my memory is foggy. Was there a scene related to air pollution?

Cool no worries. This is about sharing ideas... pretty common really and in many places it is used to get "extra" precip from clouds so that more snow or rain falls.

Snowpiercer starts with cloud seeding to help revert climate change, geoengineering really, but it turns the earth into Hoth from star wars, basically an ice planet...

Cool. Did not imagine that it is a common technique. At first it sounds like pure wizardry :P

It is!!! But fairly commonly used. Not against pollution of any type but to obtain more water for power or consumption purposes...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59928.39
ETH 2649.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42