You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Movie Science: The Geology of the Last Jedi's Crait

in #geology7 years ago

Hi @mountainwashere - I have a baggy of potassium chloride salt, bought from the chemist, which tells me its genuine. But it is as white as ordinary salt. So is the so called "Pressor Salt", claimed to contain the same, I have bought on occasion from the grocery store.

Will it turn red like the 'sylvite' you mention if I were to recrystallize it? What could it be causing the different appearance - Just the size of the crystals?

Btw, talking MarkDown editing stuff now - you can prevent your intended dashes from turning into hyphens by inserting a backslash in front of it as you edit your posts - like this: \-. The backslash will show only in your editor window and not in your published presentation.

Sort:  

White potassium chloride is pure, it's given its color by mineral inclusions- much like halite (sodium chloride) can be other colors as in Himalayan salt due to similar mineral inclusions. That shade of red only really occurs in sylvite, though, not halite.

YES I TOTALLY INTENDED TO PUT IN DASHES INSTEAD OF HYPHENS THIS IS A THING THAT IS TRUE AND NOT JUST AN ADDICTION TO UNNECESSARY AND WEIRD PUNCTUATION IN MY often OVERLONG SENTENCES RATHER THAN JUST DIVIDING THEM UP.

Ahem. Yes. That.

...had finicky me at wit's end till I discovered the answer in a MD help page - some really elegant subtleties woven into the fabric of this technology by the invisible scripting brigade behind the scenes...

I figured out half the stuff in markdown accidentally, like how to make a bulleted list.

So did I - what a battle! Then I came across a post suggesting downloading an app for creating posts offline. There are a host of these available for different operating systems. I eventually settled for MacDown on my MbP and their help page is very helpful indeed - even tables are made easy in there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54554.44
ETH 2294.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31