You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Geoengineering In The Wake Of The Storm

in #geoengineering7 years ago

My father is near Orlando. I'll never understand why people move to places that get hit regularly by such powerful storms. For me and my family, we'll stick to the mountains and far away from the coast. A day's drive to a beach is fine, and then I don't have to worry about so many natural disasters.

It's even worse to know that many people around the gulf live in areas only livable because of a levy. Are you people nuts? Seriously, who buys a house in such a place? Those levys will fail. We've seen it in recent history too. Why would you build a house below a 500 year flood plane either?

I understand that a lot of people have no choice, but the question has to be asked. Taxes pay for the damages to these places. We are paying for the damage. If you live in such a place, should you have your bad decisions subsidized by others? I don't think you should.

We should at least be able to ask that question and debate the issue.

Sort:  

Good point. It's preferable not to insinuate people might be nuts. I'm also very often tempted to do these kind of insinuations but I try to be kinder and observe my writings so I do it as rarely as possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75