A Steemit Newbie Manifesto

in #genuine7 years ago

It's difficult to earn a living as a writer without compromising either your own artistic vision or your personal principles.  Most people, in order to survive, have to modify those principles to a degree.  You can't very well swear never to work for an immoral entity when a handful of people own the whole planet and protect their property rights with physical force.  The majority of us spend our lives  doing things we'd really rather not be doing, talking to people we'd  rather not be talking to, and saying things we'd  rather not be saying.  How can I help you? Do you have any other questions? Have a nice day! 

Our Facebook accounts are viewed a social capital, and we must post positive!  Photos of our food, descriptions of the rewards of our labors, like vacations and concerts,  that help convince ourselves and others that it's all worth it.  That's why I need some space in the world where I can be real.  I need some space where I can be inappropriate, silly, outrageous, boring, maudlin, revolutionary, brilliant, or just curious.  I need some space where I never have to say anything I don't want to say or pretend to agree with anything I don't.   Twitter is one such place for me.  I appreciate the precision required by the 140 character limit, too.  It forces me to condense my mental rambling. 

However, there are times when I think it's a manifestation of shrinking attention spans caused by constant commercial interruptions.   Any topic is usually too complex for any real understanding to be achieved with a single simplistic sentence.  There are no good guys and bad guys, despite what the media propaganda machine would have us believe.  I hope to find some real friends here on Steemit, and not just like-minded people.  I'd like to interact with a  few different-minded people.  

I will never up vote a boring vapid post to achieve popularity, and I will never modify my writing for any other reason than someone presenting irrefutable evidence that there are perspectives that I hadn't considered before coming to whatever ridiculous conclusion I've come to.  There is no "the truth", since we all carry our own piece of it and the whole truth can never be known until we've all not only had our say, but have been heard.  

Some days I'm in the mood to write limericks. Other days, I write scathing social commentary.  Sometimes I just write about joy or despair.  I want to connect with others trying to remain genuine while simultaneously trying to survive.  I want us all to be heroes.  I believe in the power of cryptocurrency to disrupt the current corrupt, violence-based power structure through the power of mutual agreement as to what constitutes value.  I value honest expression, and I'll do my best not to pervert it here for a buck.  I'll also try to be as interesting and entertaining as possible within those constraints.  Who's with me? 

Sort:  

I'm with you! From what I've seen those that are successful on here get that way from just being dedicated to building themselves. Those that stuck to their guns got rewarded with a larger following because people enjoy the authenticity of their style. At least that's how I see it.

I haven't started writing on here yet, I've just been commenting a lot but I've been brainstorming. Everything that I've come up with is basically something near and dear to me. I'd love to be able to categorize my thoughts and have others be able to benefit from it and I can't wait to get started.

Seeing posts like this excite me though, because if little minnows like us who get nothing for our posts are pledging to bring quality content then the future is bright for steemit. Cheers

Thanks, and I look forward to reading your posts.

It's one of the things that I love about Steemit - I've been able to really be myself with no filter on topic, language, or niche. I truly feel that this space has made me a better writer and I've expanded my world into a crypto space that I could never have imagined.

I truly believe that you may find that same openness and be embraced by the community. The key is to keep going and be real. I've also just launched a community engagement challenge. It's not going to be easy but if it were it wouldn't be a challenge now, would it? :D I hope you swing by and check it out. There are some helpful tips in the comments too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66895.91
ETH 3499.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89