100 Days Coding Challenge - Day 1/100 [Building a Hotel Reception System]

Hello steemians, hope y'all had a great day... I've been off and on my blog for a while now because I had to finish up a software for a school, well I'm back to my learning process again and this time I'm starting a programming challenge for myself and every other programmer interested, the idea of the challenge is to learn a new thing every day for a hundred days, after which one or more projects would be completed.

The idea of this came from an Instagram account @codinglife, and I'd like every other programmer here to join in and make the remaining three months in this year codeful lol.

Alright, today being my first day on the challenge I decided to use jFoenix library to make my UI look better, meanwhile I'll be working on a Hotel Reception Assistant Software, it's function is to make the record keeping activities of a hotel reception faster and more effective than the paper method which is still widely used in Nigeria.

The software is to be developed with:

  • Programming Language: JavaFx and CSS
  • Database System: SQLite
  • Icons: Icons 8
  • Reports: IText PDF

Here's a list of a few things it does:

  1. Handles CheckIn and CheckOut of customers in the Hotel.
  2. Prints receipts and visitor tags for customers and visitors in the Hotel.
  3. Prints out financial reports of the Hotel

That's all I could come up with for now, but as I continue to work on the software, I would be adding more functionality.

Here's the screenshot of the Dashboard without dummy data, I might still consider reconstruction depending on your comments.

image

The Dashboard

In the screenshot, you would notice a few information about a customer displayed, the dashboard is designed to display the list of all customers currently in the hotel, and whenever a customer is selected the system pulls the information required from the database and displays it in the form...

Details such as name, telephone, address, booking details e.t.c would be displayed here, this is to help the receptionist contact the customer incase of visitors or for a reminder that their rent is due. Also on the dashboard, buttons to checkin, checkout a customer and reports have been added for easy accessibility.

At the end of the day I have achieved the following:

  1. Coding time: 2hrs
  2. Study time: 2hrs
  3. Movie time: 3hrs

The rest of the day was spent with friends and making plans for the software, and yes I tried preparing a proposal which didn't work out well, and a friend @destinysaid advised that I start working with the blockchain more, that is writing apps with blockchain technology, I know it's going to take some time to achieve but it's gonna be fun anyways.


So Earlier in the day I got an opportunity to be a sponsor of a beauty pageant event from @kweenzykruzy, but I didn't really get the chance to come up with what I'd like to add to the event, considering the fact that I'm a software developer... Anyways I'd like to hear from you, your advices and comment would really help right now.

That's all for today. I'm looking forward to your comments and I'd be delighted to get more ideas for both the software and the pageant sponsorship.

Have a great day ahead, I'm Official Hord and I'm a programmer.

Sort:  

Hello! Your post has been resteemed and upvoted by @ilovecoding because we love coding! Keep up good work! Consider upvoting this comment to support the @ilovecoding and increase your future rewards! ^_^ Steem On!

Reply !stop to disable the comment. Thanks!

Hello! Your post has been resteemed and upvoted by @ilovecoding because we love coding! Keep up good work! Consider upvoting this comment to support the @ilovecoding and increase your future rewards! ^_^ Steem On!

Reply !stop to disable the comment. Thanks!

Hello! Your post has been resteemed and upvoted by @ilovecoding because we love coding! Keep up good work! Consider upvoting this comment to support the @ilovecoding and increase your future rewards! ^_^ Steem On!

Reply !stop to disable the comment. Thanks!

Hello! Your post has been resteemed and upvoted by @ilovecoding because we love coding! Keep up good work! Consider upvoting this comment to support the @ilovecoding and increase your future rewards! ^_^ Steem On!

Reply !stop to disable the comment. Thanks!

Hello! Your post has been resteemed and upvoted by @ilovecoding because we love coding! Keep up good work! Consider upvoting this comment to support the @ilovecoding and increase your future rewards! ^_^ Steem On!

Reply !stop to disable the comment. Thanks!

Hello! Your post has been resteemed and upvoted by @ilovecoding because we love coding! Keep up good work! Consider upvoting this comment to support the @ilovecoding and increase your future rewards! ^_^ Steem On!

Reply !stop to disable the comment. Thanks!

Hello! Your post has been resteemed and upvoted by @ilovecoding because we love coding! Keep up good work! Consider upvoting this comment to support the @ilovecoding and increase your future rewards! ^_^ Steem On!

Reply !stop to disable the comment. Thanks!

Hello! Your post has been resteemed and upvoted by @ilovecoding because we love coding! Keep up good work! Consider upvoting this comment to support the @ilovecoding and increase your future rewards! ^_^ Steem On!

Reply !stop to disable the comment. Thanks!

Thanks, sorry, the bot has a bug and is now fixed.

Aiit man, It's a good one, Keep up the good work.

This is incredible work love. Please keep at it...hope to see more and learn more from you. Cheers.

#Bigwaves

Thanks @mosunomotunde, I hope you have a great day ahead.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77