How a friend betrayed me... Dhortune

in #genesis6 years ago

How One of my Friend Betrayed me... Dhortune, Dhat Ondo Boy

I sent a friend request to him on facebook, he accepted and we got talking, belive me, Dhortune is a lively guy ,he put a call through to me, as a sharp guy, I booked an interview with him.

Finding a perfect place for the interview session was an huclean task, should we go to Chicken Republic, Faith Hall, I just wanted a cool and place devoid of noise, we finally settled for one of the hotel in the metropolis.

The environment was serene, after some conversation to warm up for the exclusive chat, the interview started, Dhortune was in his element through out the interview, he was realistic with his answers.

We got to talk about his rise to fame, why he hold the likes of Ogbeni La and Honourble Marcus in high regard, his relationship, why he hasn't settled Down and above all the music. Don't let me bore you with long talk, please endevour to like, comment and share this post, if you want Arbico Parrot to interview you, kindly message is us on 08066094201.

By Emmanuel Daraloye

Can we meet you?

My name is Olamidotun Richard ,Oluwatimileyin dhat Ondo Boy

Why dhat Ondo Boy? Why not that Ekinmogun boy?

I didn't pick that name, I dropped a song before I got signed and It went viral, someone posted it on facebook and I got tagged, people on social media started calling me dhat Ondo boy.

So tell me, how did this music of a thing started? Was anyone singing in the family?

It started from primary school, everybody can sing in the family, I acted and sing what I was acting, when I got to secondary school(Success international) , I auditioned and I got picked, I was doing the tenor part, I didn't relent, I was in JSs3 when I started controlling the choir, I became the Chapel prefect boy when I got to SS3, it continued when I got admitted to Adeyemi.

Did anyone discouraged you from music?

My family never wanted me to do it professionally, I was the only science student In our family, my father wanted me to study pharmacy, my first jamb I got 197, so I was unable to go to University of Benin (UNIBEN) and I opted in for Adeyemi, there are moments he instructed them not to cook my food, sometime I sleep outside but after a while he noticed nothing can change me, after graduation I left for Lagos, even during my listening party, he told the crowd he never supported me.

What about your mum?

She didn't support initially but later, She was seeing the green light, she was not cool with the fact that there was no money, she said there are some other things I can do to get money but she is now cool with it.

Who were those that supported your music career?

Some of my friends encouraged me, even lecturers, they do call me drama boy, music boy, my female friends believe so much in me, someone like Ogbeni La belived in me when nobody knew me, then he was majorly concerned with the way I put out my lyrics, people like Honorable Marcus (Tayo), Dr Nelson of Adeyemi, some discouraged me too with their actions, some with the way they treat me when I go to perform for them, some with what they say, some will say he is singing for ladies, he is using songs to toast girls because while on campus I used to go around with my guitar, I like to write song where people are, inspiration will come.

Despite all this, you were not discouraged, what was your driving force because I know if it were others they would have relented?

The thing is that I like to plan ahead, am ready to take any pain to achieve it, see, I have trekked from Iwo road to Gbagi, Opebi to Anthony, you know how painful that is, it's my dream, only me can see.

I know music require money, how were you able to source for money for your music before you to signed to ACI?

It has always been me, the support started coming when I was about been signed although some of the producer were very supportive some like Anticacaworm did some beat for me for free, Fabs (Joseph) too.

This ACI Deal, how did it happened?

The first Ondo song I did went viral, his younger brother who was my manager sent it to him, did all he could do so that I can get signed , after a while I came for the queen (Osemawe) birthday, I also performed at a public function, that's was the time I wrote Ayami, I sent it to Dr Nelson Osungbemiro, he gave me a cheque, I later sent it to my manager, he sent it to his brother, he was not in the country, so, he called me and told me I will be signed , on the 22nd of February 2017, I went to the studio, I signed the contract, I re recorded the song and that's where the whole thing started, its a five years contract.

How has it been signing with them?

Signing with them has been so competitive, we are three, different genre, It makes me think more than I use to think, there is a lot to music aside from performing, I learnt the business side of music too.

Officially, how many tracks did you dropped before the signing?

I dropped too but I didn't prompte it, one in 2010 , I dropped it on Tindeck, the second one was the Ondo Anthem, that was 2014.

2010 to 2014 is four years, what were you doing between those period?

I was in Lagos recording, I was with Root entertainment band, I was the band leader, we performed on the freedom every second Saturday of the month, I got a lot of experience from that, everything was done live.

How did you come about the Ondo Anthem?

They wanted to do a youth version of Ekinmogun and they needed a jingle, I did a one minute snippet for them, after two year Ogbeni La and Marcus called me and said this your song sweet o, you fit extend am and I did, it went viral, it called Ondo Anthem.

What's the inspiration behind the song?

If you are from Ondo, they don't need to point to you before they know, we love to party, we don't take shiit from anybody, we are well represented, I just wrote It to sell our culture, it's just to remind them on our culture, what we are known for.

Even before we met I checked through your instagram and I saw your picture with Dr Olusegun Mimiko, how did you meet him?

That first song got to his phone, so after he left office, I performed at his sent off, so, when I was performing, his wife tapped him, telling him this is the boy, so immediately he paid attention, it got to a stage, he got up ,took the mic from me and was singing, in August he called me that he will like me to perform at his daughter's wedding, we negotiated nothing less than...was paid, I and Sean Tizzle performed.

The first time you performed publicly, how was it?

That was 1994 here in Ondo at Holy Trinity primary school, the truth is that I wasn't nervous or scare because I was eager to go on stage , my parent were part of the crowd so I have to make them proud, the performance was wow and I became popular.

You sent a video to me on whatsapp recently performing at Omobaba Show, how did you meet him?

Omobaba is a friend to the Ondos, he do come to Ondo very well, I met him through a lady who owned an entertainment outfit, she got me on board.

I know you have performed in a lot of shows, can you give us some selected ones?

I do mostly wedding, I performed at Ketu on October 7,2017, got booked from US, it was a success, performed at Hard Rock Cafe during the Rumble in Lagos, when Evan Holyfied came for Lagos at 50, ACI brought him just to support the Lagos at 50, a lot of shows.

Dhortune, I know your song book go don big...

I write my songs, do you know the funnest thing is that I don't keep lyrics book, I can pick a sheet, write on it and throw the paper away, I know the songs off hand.

Was Ayami meant for your girlfriend, what really happened?

The day I wrote Ayami, I was on a bike, the chorus just came to my mind, if you want to present your wife, how do you do that? Ok if you say peoole should come and see your wife, what are the qualities You See in your wife, that was what led to the song, talking about the imaginary wife, I made it general, I didn't personalise it.

How were you able to balance your music and studies while in Adeyemi?

Right from 100L I knew I wasn't going to practice chemistry and I knew I wasn't going to a music school too, I just went to school so that they won't say he didn't go to school, you know people can be very funny, you know there was a time they said 2Face didn't finish school, your success is not based on what you study or your certificate, it's based on your creativity, I know how to balance my time, I don't sleep much and Chemistry was just for four years.

What's your plan for the remainder of the Year?

To bring a concert to the city,(Cut in, why are you particular about Ondo) if you are known outside and not loved by insiders, you will crash, since I release that Ondo Anthem, Ondo have been supportive, why do you think Phyno took his concert to Enugu (Shutting down the cathedral), Flavour did another one with Semah in Enugu, I will do my concert In Ondo not Lagos, the planning is ongoing before then, I will be dropping a single.

It seems you don't like collaboration?

I belive in collaborations but if you have to do anything, it must add value to me, I will like to do collabo with the likes of Asa, Wande Coal, Adekunle Gold, Simi, WAJE, Omawumi, Wizkid, Davido a whole lot of them, I dont belive in doing collaboration just to leverage on the featured artiste to get more famous, when you are doing collaboration, you are bring fans of two different artiste together, it has to be very meaningful, I want to do my homework very well.

Which type of music did you listened to while growing up?

I love R Kelly, Celine Dion, Neyo, locally I listened to Orlando Owoh, Ebenezer Obey, Victor Uwaifo, Olisa Osadebey, Fela, Haruna Ishola, Ayinla Omowura, Kollington, Barrister, Ayuba, I was actually studying their music, today am not restricted to high life, my first collaboration was a trap song (2013) two rappers featured me, I wrote the chorus and I did the bridge, bring any genre of music I will do it.

Who do you look up to in the Music Industry?

King sunny Ade is ontop of his game, it not easy to do music for more than 50 years and still keeping it strong, R Kelly too, his lyrics are always meaningful, he sings as if he is telling a story, I learnt simplicity from Neyo.

How did you meet KSA, I saw your picture with him?

We both performed at last Ekinmogun day, I fused one of his song into mine, when I performed it, he screamed, we ended up performing it together.

Tell me more about your family?

Am the 2nd to the last, three brothers, two sisters.

Shey Dem no Dey beat you Sha while growing up?

(Laughter) I was very stubborn when I was young, we were brought up in a thorough way and that still keeping me till today.

How was growing up like?

Growing up was tough I won't lie to you, I come from a family where you have to make do with what they give you, it was very though but we thank God.

What's your favourite colour?
Blue

What's your Favorite Food

Rice

Tell me the last movie you watched?

Bahbahli part two

I like India movie, they have the highest scale in music and it is very difficult, watch X Factor India, their story are well structured too.

Did you ever participated in any Talent show?

I was at the first and last Glo X Factor(2014) there have been some auditions and stages even before the likes of Oyenka ,Owennu, MI and the likes started appearing on TV has judges, I did my audition at Bamako studio at Ojodu, the judges were from Sony music (US), I did the first audition up to the fifth, that's why I still have issue with we Nigerians Sometimes, I was singing songs I knew they know, I sang Redemption song by Bob Marley and after finishing, the next thing was that black guy said I should sing without the guitar but the white man said he love me with the Guitar, why should you pull me down, the white man gave me the ticket to the next stage where we were asked to submit our birth certificate, state of Origin, no member of their staff were allowed to participate so I was caught up, my elder brother was with Glo, DJ Switch ended up winning the 24 million Naira , it was very painful, that was when I made up my mind not to participate in any reality shows.

What do you think talent show should be all about?
The attention is mostly on their voice and skills, it should be about their performances because when they win and go out most of them can't perform, entertainment is beyond your voice.

Was that your first?

No, In 2011 I went to Akure, I represented the state in a Niger Delta musical competiton, there was a day, I and my friend was at home, no food to eat, I got a call from someone telling me to come to Ondo, I borrowed One Kay, left for Akure with the intention that when I get there I will tell them I borrowed the money, the competiton was holding at Royal bird hotel the following day, I only had 50 Naira with me, I had to trek from Ijapo estate to Futa, I was picked, the third day the Niger Delta minister came, I was one of the top 5, we were supposed to be given 500,000 but they ended up giving us 250,000, they said they want to use the remaining to do recording for us, probably they will do it tomorrow (General Laughter) , that's was the first time I used a blackberry phone, I went to the boutique, changed my wardrobe, gave my friend money, I went to my dad office to show him my certificate, he started seeing the green light after the event.

Tell me three things you can't go out without?

My phone and ATM card, those are the two.

How is It like performing with a Band?

I have my own band, eleven man band, it is very interesting, that's where the creativity comes into place, that's where they enjoy the music most, take for instance while performing with a DJ even if the audience dont like it, you have no choice but to do but with live music you can tweak it, change it, lighten up your performance.

How many tracks should we be expecting on your forthcoming EP?

I have not decided on the number of tracks, there might be a collaboration.

How many Videos do you have?

Only one, Ayami, it was shoot in Lagos, Idanre and Ondo, it took us just two days, Milegbe video is coming soon.

Ok Dhortune, I will give you two things, I want you to pick one...
Coke/Fanta...Fanta
Rice/Beans....Rice
Highlife/Juju...Highlife
Diamond/Gold...Diamond
Dhortune/DhatOndo Boy... Dhart Ondo boy because that's Dhortune (am a bad guy, I won put you on a spot, laughter)

Which football club do you support?

Liverpool

What do you at your leisure time?

In my leisure I like playing PS, also football, five aside.

When did you leave Ondo for Lagos?

In 2010, I and a friend decided to go to Lagos, I have brothers and uncle in Lagos, am this type, I don't like doing all this family things, he was a guitarist, he told me we need to leave, so, we called one of our friend who told us there was a. Audition in his church but we were tricked, he didn't pick up our Call when we got to Lagos so, he was forced to call one of his uncle, we stayed with him at Surulere, we started going to his church, directing their choir, from there music started picking up.

Dhortune, you have been through a lot mehn...

Nothing comes easy bro, those are the price you pay, your friend will betray you, stab you, you just have to pay attention to what you are doing.

What can you say about the Music Industry, have spoken to some artistes, they do say there is not structure...

If they say there is no structure, they have a point, even with that people are still making their money, the industry is beginning to gain attention all over the world, entertainment is shifting to Africa.

What do you think they should improve on?

Marketing strategy, the online sale, not everybody is on iTunes, we need to fashion a way we can sell music probably converting the megabytes to money, work on Artiste management, it is still not that smooth as it should be, there is not much record labels, there are some record label but they are not operating well, there should be mentorship, look at what Davido is doing with Mayorkun, Dremo, and the likes, even Wizkid, he has some new boy, Flavour and Semah, even Don Jazzy.

I discover you don't use bloggers for your songs, you prefer using digital platform...

Funny enough I used bloggers, coming as a new artiste, you have to test run, you don't just spend anyhow, it goes beyond the music, you don't just rush, the relationship matters.

What turn you off?

Lie to me, underrating me, I don't like it.

for the ladies, is Dhortune Married?

Am not married.

Do you still remember your first official girlfriend?

Yes, she got married this year, we dated for Just a year as a student, the break up was mutual, we were just dating because we wanted to date, she likes me though, even me sef I can't say this is the purpose of dating, I have only been involved in two serious relationship even though the second break up was painful, she came back begging but we are still cool, we still add value to one another, she still support my brand.

What's your favorite drink?

Vodka, beer, above all am just a social drinker.

What inspire your music?

Whatever that can make me happy at that moment, for me to put out a good song I have to be happy.

So, when you are not happy, what do you do because you can't be happy all the time?

Sometime I call on my friends, I call friends who are good at having meaniful conversation, check on each other, am good at calling people, we can talk for like one hour, we might not even talk about what's wrong, most times it easy for friends to know am not happy, even on whatsapp, if they are chatting with me and it boring they will know because am not the boring type.

Have you ever experienced cyber bully?

Have experience it, but not too harsh, after studying their comments, I discovered they were actually telling me a better way of doing what I know how to do best but they don't know how to put it, you know some people don't know how to talk, sometime when I see it not good enough, I will delete but I won't react because out of every stupidity there is a little iota of sense.

What the full meaning of ACI?

Afinju Concept International, there is a lot of Ondo indigenes in the entertainment industry and peoole don't even know, people behind the scene, Kamal, Davido former manager is from Ondo, Seyi Law, Sean Tizzle, Omotola (Jalade Ekehinde), Olu Maintain, the Ondo State government need to step up, entertainment is what Lagos is enjoying, Ondo state need to do more when it comes to entertainment and culture.

Do you write before the beat or after the beat?

I do both, I prefer before the beat.

What genre of music do you do?

Highlife, Afro Pop, I do other genre too.

Tell me the last album you listen to...

Love letter by R Kelly.

How lucurative is Music?

There is huge money in music if you understand the business side and you have to invest big time too.

We have artistes having issues with their record labels, the likes of Kiss Daniel, Skales, even recently Runtown, what's your take on this?

I want you to know that others that didn't opt out, it doesn't mean they are satisfied, they just choose to stay, I wanna belive they have their reasons even beyond what the paper is saying, record labels can't make 100 percent of what's on paper, it a game, you need to work hard, everything can't be rosy, do some of your label work.

If you werw not an Artiste , what would you have become?

Actor or Comedian.

Apart from music, what other things are you good at?

Painting, I painted my dad house, I do POP, I lay blocks, I did all this before the fame.

So, when will. Dhortune been walking down the aisle?

I can't allow my children to suffer, I will settle down when the right person comes, when am financially stable.

Give me your social media handles?

Iam Dhortune on Facebook, Instagram, YouTube. My number is 0705 753 4697

We there ever be a time you will change your sound?

Sound will change but not like I will leave Highlife and start singing Reggae I can fuse my songs.

What is good music?

Good music is pleasant sound.

What are the songs you have on your phone currently?

Highlife, Orlando Owoh, Sunny Ade, Oldies, where is the love by Black Eye Peas, gospels songs, a Lot of songs.

You were singing gospel, why the switch to secular music?

I wasn't singing gospel as business, I have never been paid for doing gospel, singing this secular is my job.

You are still a music director in your church...

Am a music director in my church, RCCG Salvation Parish, Lekki, Lagos.

Will you be giving back to Adeyemi very soon...

Sure, probably Do a free show, as long as you are from Adeyemi, it will be free. image

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43