Forgive and Forget

in #general7 years ago

I am one of those people that used to say that forgiving and forgeting is easy. It is a matter of choice and decision i will tell you before now. Now I can tell you from experience that forgiving is hard especially when you are greatly wronged by those you least expect it from. Example, when a best friend betrays you or intentionally ignores you when you desperately needed his/her attention. But no matter the height of the offence, how embittered it was or how bad it hurts, you have no option than to forgive in order to be at peace with yourself and eailer you do that the better.
By forgiving you are actually doing yourself a whole lot of good.

Recently a friend wronged me so much that tears rolled down my cheek at any slight remembrance of it then. Instead of letting it go I tried to distract myself with my phone so much so that I wasn't aware that the water from my sink has filled my room and was rushing outside. It was a heavy knock on my door that brought me back. I had to do emergency cleanup till around 2pm that night. I blamed my friend for that and that made it harder for me to forgive her.
Waking up the next morning, I was so weak and tired but little did I know that I was in for another punishment. While I walked with reckless abandon to work that morning, I lost my way so had to walk more extra miles - just like the Israelites in the wilderness. Lolz.

That too did not teach me enough lesson.

While coming back from work same day, I sat in the bus thinking of how I will 'finish' my friend if I set my eyes on her. I was so involved in that thought that I forgot my phone in the bus. Another trouble!

It was at this point that I had a rethink. So immediately I collected back my phone from the good citizen (the bus driver), I called my friend told her how angry I was with what she did and the punishments I received. I forgave her before she even asked for it and that returned my peace.

Let it go.
Who does unforgiveness help?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51