Genealogy: Adeline Brent (1810)

in #genealogy5 days ago

I'm experimenting with posting some random bits of my genealogy research here with the goal of eventually creating a linked family tree on Hive. You can see the index here.

Brent Adeline was born in 1808. This is getting close to the ideal time to research ancestors. From the 1800s to the early 1900s there's lots of info available out there on the Internet that you might not already have. Census records and birth and death records are more common and you can often find photos which is really nice. Of course, that is by no means universally true. Records for this particular individual, for example, actually seem to be pretty sparse.

According to Gramps, Adeline is my third great grandaunt so all things considered, this is a pretty close relationship.

I use GenoPro to maintain my family tree but I use other programs to generate reports and web pages. One of those programs, Gramps, is open source software for Windows, Linux and MacOS that I have been using to generate static HTML reports and is what most of the info you see below is based on. I also use its relationship calculator functionality as noted above. I've also been exploring GedSite, a program that takes a gedcom file and converts it into html, and The Next Generation of Genealogy Sitebuilding (TNG) which is web based and requires a setup with a web server, PHP and mySQL. Mostly I've been playing around with TNG which is excellent but I'll get back to GedSite eventually.

While Gramps is free, both TNG and GedSite are commercial software so you have to pay for them. I think their price is perfectly reasonable and they are both excellent in their own ways. However, I prefer the open source nature of Gramps and the fact that it generates static HTML makes it easy to work with. I like TNG enough that I will probably keep using it also though. I'll remain undecided on GedSite until I get back to trying it out more though I've liked other sites I've seen generated with it.

The chart at the top is an ancestry chart out to four generations from Gramps. The chart at the bottom is the same thing but generated by TNG. The index of all individuals I have posted so far can be found here.

The Skaggs-Files

Brent, Adeline

Birth Name Brent, Adeline
Gender female
Age at Death unknown

Events

Event Date Place Description Sources
Birth 1808 Washington Co., Kentucky   1a
Death        

Parents

Relation to main person Name Birth date Death date Relation within this family (if not by birth)
Father Brent, William1777-08-001851
Mother Simmons, Elizabeth1774
    Brother     Brent, Sanford 1800-07-05
    Sister     Brent, Eliza 1804
    Sister     Brent, Nancy 1807
    Brother     Brent, John Newton 1807-05-06 1899-11-24
         Brent, Adeline 1808
    Sister     Brent, Sarah 1810
    Sister     Brent, Martha 1812
    Sister     Brent, Matilda 1819

Source References

  1. Melissa Thompson Alexander: http://wc.rootsweb.com/cgi-bin/igm.cgi?op=GET&db=madagtenet&id=I43222 Working Gedcom of Melissa Thompson Alexander
      • Source text:

        ID: I43222
        Name: Elizabeth SIMMONS
        Sex: F
        Birth: 1777
        Birth: ABT 1780
        Burial: Trimble Co, KY 1

        Father: William SIMMONS b: BEF 1760
        Mother: UNKNOWN

        Marriage 1 William BRENT b: AUG 1777 in Fauquirer, VA
        Married: 8 AUG 1799 in Nelson Co, KY 2
        Children
        John Newton BRENT b: BET 1780 AND 1815
        Eliza BRENT b: 1804 in Washington, KY
        Mathilda BRENT b: 1806 in Washington, KY
        Nancy BRENT b: 1807 in Washington, KY
        Adeline BRENT b: 1808 in Washington, KY
        Sarah BRENT b: 1810 in Washington, KY
        Martha BRENT b: 1812 in Washington, KY
        Sanford BRENT b: 5 JUL 1800 in Washington Co, KY

        Sources:
        Title: Lynne Simpson [email protected]
        Title: Marriage, Bond & Consent Book of Nelson County, 1785-1800, Revised

         

      • Citation:

        Use this as a guide, not fact! I often list a recent contact as a source-not necessarily their underlying source. My bias is to share freely. My direct line is denoted with *.

        [email protected]

Generated by Gramps AIO64-5.1.5-1
Last change was the 2023-06-30 17:16:36


Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

"Love this family history! 🌟 I'm fascinated by Elizabeth Simmons' story and the extensive research that's gone into creating this online tree. The inclusion of sources and notes is so helpful for those interested in genealogy. Let's keep exploring and learning together! 💡👍"

I also gave you a 0.26% upvote for the delegations you have made to us. Increase your delegations to get more valuable upvotes. Cheers! 🎉

Help Us Secure the Blockchain for You

Your vote matters! Support strong governance and secure operations by voting for our witnesses:

Get Involved

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64256.72
ETH 2794.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65