Genealogy: Abigail Hazen Mooers (1788)

in #genealogy5 days ago

I'm experimenting with posting some random bits of my genealogy research here with the goal of eventually creating a linked family tree on Hive. You can see the index here.

Abigail was born in 1788 but only lived for thirteen days. The cause of her death is not recorded (or at least not found by me) but there were many things that could kill an infant in the 1700s as medical care was rudimentary in the best cases and often did more harm than good. Interestingly, this family seemed to have a child a couple of years later that they gave the same name to.

Finding information on those who lived in the 1700s is hit or miss. In some places, very good records were kept, like in Massachusetts where this family is from. However, in many other places, record keeping was not so great. According to Gramps, Abigail is my fourth cousin seven times removed.

I use GenoPro to maintain my family tree but I use other programs to generate reports and web pages. One of those programs, Gramps, is open source software for Windows, Linux and MacOS that I have been using to generate static HTML reports and is what most of the info you see below is based on. I also use its relationship calculator functionality as noted above but I've found it only works back to about 27 generations give or take. I've also been exploring The Next Generation of Genealogy Sitebuilding (TNG) which is web based and requires a web server, PHP and mySQL. I also purchased GedSite which also generates static HTML reports that I will dig into more eventually.

While Gramps is free, both TNG and GedSite are commercial software so you have to pay for them. I think their price is perfectly reasonable and they are both excellent in their own ways. However, I prefer the open source nature of Gramps and the fact that it generates static HTML makes it easy to work with. I like TNG enough that I will probably keep using it also though. I'm still undecided on GedSite until I get back to trying it out more though I've liked other sites I've seen generated with it. For now I am generating reports with Gramps and updating TNG on a fairly regular basis (every month or few anyway).

The chart at the top is an ancestry chart out to four generations from Gramps. The chart at the bottom is the same thing as generated by TNG. The index of all individuals I have posted so far can be found here.


The Skaggs-Files

MOOERS, Abigail Hazen

Birth Name MOOERS, Abigail Hazen
Gender female
Age at Death 13 days

Events

Event Date Place Description Sources
Birth 1788-08-24 Haverhill, Essex Co., Massachusetts   1
Death 1788-09-06 Haverhill, Essex Co., Massachusetts   1

Age: 0m 13d

Christening 102075      

Parents

Relation to main person Name Birth date Death date Relation within this family (if not by birth)
Father MOOERS, Jonathan1764-09-261805-12-08
Mother GAGE, Elizabeth1774-03-221841-04-27
         MOOERS, Abigail Hazen 1788-08-24 1788-09-06
    Sister     MOOERS, Sarah Stevens 1788-08-24
    Sister     MOOERS, Abigail Hazen 1789-08-16
    Sister     MOOERS, Elizabeth 1791-06-03
    Brother     MOOERS, William Hazen 1792-12-24 1794-06-13
    Sister     MOOERS, Nancy 1795-03-15

Generated by Gramps AIO64-5.1.5-1
Last change was the 2023-08-15 14:44:40


Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

"I'm loving this genealogy journey! 🌟 Let's explore more together! 👥 What do you think about Abigail Hazen's story? 🤔 Should we dive deeper into the history of The Skaggs Files? 📚"

I also gave you a 0.26% upvote for the delegations you have made to us. Increase your delegations to get more valuable upvotes. Cheers! 🎉

Help Us Secure the Blockchain for You

Your vote matters! Support strong governance and secure operations by voting for our witnesses:

Get Involved

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58521.00
ETH 2488.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39