Gender and Sensitivity

in #genderandsensitivity3 years ago (edited)

IMG_20210324_120936.jpg
Last week, we had a seminar about gender and sensitivity. It is a timely topic especially in this time of age where a lot of individuals who are survivors are afraid of coming out for various reasons and factors. It can be because of family reputation, for their safety, and so many more. It's kinda hard to imagine myself being in that situation but I have to seeing as empathy is one of the skills a social worker must develop. As a social work student, I have to prepare myself because hopefully in God's time I can graduate and get a job, I will be dealing with this kind of scenario in the future. I know hearing it from the speaker is different when hearing it from the survivors itself but it is still hard to listen. Hard to listen because some of the people who inflict the abuse are their family members. We also have to remember that not only women experienced this awful act but people of all gender.

Its also eeks me when someone would just randomly said they wanted to be rape. It's disrespectful on the part of the survivors who suffers from it. We have to be sensitive on the things we say even though there is no malice in it on our part but its different to the people who listens to it and who experience it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59999.40
ETH 2646.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44