Gemini.com randomly bans my trading account for no reason and froze access... so much for giving that info to my accountant this year?!

in #gemini6 years ago (edited)

I received a brief email this afternoon (1 day after updating bank wire information.)

Good Afternoon,

Our Compliance team has reviewed your account and regret to inform you that your account will be closed at this point in time.

Regards,

Gemini Customer Support"

My account and records were all then completely blocked... I'm not really sure what I need to do in order to give my accountant the information she needs in order to file my taxes.

I have no way of accessing my account history or anything else like that for taxes or any other reason it seems?

I've emailed Gemini and will update with what they have to say in regards to why and information remaining on the account.

Strange and scary.

Sort:  

Hey @bayareacoins. Wow, what a great contribution. Hope my upvote and resteem will help you. Thanks

I would try emailing Gemini customer support or contacting them in some other way for the information. Crypto is a new area for the IRS anyway so these kind of situations will allow for more gray area, if you know what I mean : )

I absolutely have. :P

I'm just making this post to go ahead and document how it turns out because it's Good Friday and I'm concerned I'd forget details over the weekend.

I will absolutely update this when I hear back. One of my friends was denied right off the bat and they flat out refused to say why. It was strange.

I received all my account information via a very clean excel sheet and Gemini was extremely prompt. Their reason for freezing accounts is confidential ... easy come and easy go.

I'm happy with the resolution.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15