Fear of covid 19: story on a transit

in #gem4 years ago

Covid 19 declared as pandemic has distort the peace of social gathering, but then how are we to do when we still need to travel, go to church and school to satisfy societal and personal need.

Last week, after my examination and I needed to travel home. I boarded a car going through my town. Just half way into the journey, a young man sitting next to me started coughing,all his effort to cone his respiratory tracks from exhaling more coughs was fruitless, you can accurately guess what people's reaction was especially me who was sitting next to him. In my heart, I was already breaking the chains and demon of Corona virus and trying hard to avoid contact which was not possible with the kind of roads we have in Nigeria, the potholes encourages swinging that gave him more contact with me. People sitting on that row with no face mask started untying their tie and clothes and covering their nose, some demanded that the driver stop so they could go out but that system doesn't work in Nigeria especially if you've paid already.

exizsz.jpg
Image

"Hey, what's wrong with you" someone from the front sit asked, facing the young man, but he remained silent not even understanding what the people were referring to. The fear grew worst as they noticed he was acting weak. All I could do was pray and ask God to deliver me from the hand of Corona virus as I placed my bag in-between the young man and myself, "come on, comot the bag, how many seat you pay for" angry passenger yell at me. " You no see this guy" I asked. " Ehen, wetin do am,? He responded. I remained still and the journey went on with some of us sitting quite and the others giving warning to the driver not to pick anyone who's coughing. Hahaha, like the driver care when he's all about his money, worst they are not even aware of the happening since they hardly listen to news.

When I noticed the guy trying to adjust his position closer to me, the look I gave him sent a message of unfriendliness, he withdraw and kept managing the wide space every one gave him. I don't know if it was the state of unfriendliness he got, the young man decided to stop before his destination. Though happy but no one adjusted to the position he left. So funny, until a passenger who knew nothing about the young man stopped and board the car. I got home and remained uncomfortable for days thinking I was infected but why should I even think so when no one has declared him to be. It's a week and I still feel healthy, am at rest now that there was no covid in the first place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97