WTF?! The Tick Live Action TV Show is Inappropriate for Kids

in #geek7 years ago

I have been waiting for over a year to see the new Tick live action TV show on Amazon.



I first got hooked on The Tick way back in 1994 when I first saw the cartoon on Fox. Even though I had just graduated college, my friends and I loved it. The Tick was't your typical superhero cartoon. It was more of a spoof of a typical superhero show.

Not only was the hero derived from one of the most annoying insects ever, he fought villains with hilarious names like "The Broadcaster and El Seed". He also hung out with with silly heroes like "American Maid" and "Die Fledermaus ". His battle cry was "spoon!"



In addition he delivered some of the most ridiculous lines ever including:

"You're not going crazy. You're going sane in a crazy world!"

"Everybody was a baby once, Arthur. Oh, sure, maybe not today, or even yesterday. But once. Babies, chum: tiny, dimpled, fleshy mirrors of our us-ness, that we parents hurl into the future, like leathery footballs of hope. And you've got to get a good spiral on that baby, or evil will make an interception."

"And so, may Evil beware and may Good dress warmly and eat plenty of fresh vegetables."

"And, isn't sanity really just a one-trick pony anyway? I mean all you get is one trick, rational thinking, but when you're good and crazy, oooh, oooh, oooh, the sky is the limit."

"Arthur, you have no historical perspective. Science in those days worked in broad strokes. They got right to the point. Nowadays, it's all just molecule, molecule, molecule. Nothing ever happens big."

"Well, once again, my friend, we find that science is a two-headed beast. One head is nice, it gives us aspirin and other modern conveniences... But the other head of science is bad. Oh, beware the other head of science, Arthur. It bites."

Even now when I am in my 40s I read those and laugh. They were witty and clever.

Obviously, Amazon's new version of The Tick is trying to cater to that audience who enjoyed that cartoon so many years ago., The show is for adults with a quirky sense of humor. But you know what else those adults now have?

Children!!!!


You know what we don't have a lot of?

Time!!!!


Therefore when we see an opportunity to do something we really like and we can include our kids, it is like hitting a grand slam!

I was really expecting The Tick to be just that. A show I could enjoy with my children. A show that would connect my younger days to them. It was going to be great!

In the first episode, a few of the characters dropped the "S" word a couple of times. OK. I didn't like that being included in what should be a kid friendly show, but I could explain that one to my kids.

Then in the second episode, a villain (Miss Lint) dropped an F-bomb?



WTF?

Are they serious? Who do they think is watching this show? The target demographic most likely consists of people aged 30-45... who have kids!!!!!!

I turned it off and won't waste my time on it again. If I could watch it with my kids, we would have watched every episode.

I am not offended by swear words at all. But I am an adult. This is the freaking Tick!!!!! Kids should be able to watch it.

If I could find the writers, here are the two questions I would ask:

How many viewers did you gain by using the "F-word"?

How many viewers did you lose by using the "F-word"?

My guess is that the answers are "0" and "many".

What was the upside to using adult language?

I guess I'll just bust out the 90s cartoon and watch those with the kids.

Amazon, you hired a bunch of morons. So let me help you out.


Screen Shot 2017-08-27 at 3.20.01 AM.png

Do you see the difference now you idiots?

Sort:  

Well, if anybody want to watch it, just do it

This post has received a 12.69 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @nerdnews.

This post has received a Bellyrub and 18.95 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @nerdnews. Send SBD to @bellyrub with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote, every 2.4 hours. Be sure to vote for my Pops, @zeartul, as Steem Witness Hope you enjoyed your bellyrub!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57882.05
ETH 2579.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35