Video game sells for over $30,000 on eBay.

in #geek7 years ago

I have two questions for you:

  1. Do you have any sealed NES games laying around your house?

  2. Would you like to sell them to me for twice what you paid?

If your answer to number one is "yes", you better check eBay before you answer the second one. According to Time.com, earlier this week, a very rare copy of Super Mario Bros for the NES was listed on the auction sight. On Wednesday, the auction ended and the seller, DKOldies, is set to walk away with just over $30,000.




Before you go and make any major purchases based on your uncovered NES video game fortune, it is important to note this was a very rare game. For most of its existence, Super Mario Bros was included in the NES box. However, for a short period of time during 1985, the game was available to purchase separately. The hang tag on the back of the box is evidence that it was indeed form this brief time period. The box is also in "mint" condition.

So is it really the game that is worth $30,000 or is it that tiny piece of plastic used to hang the game on a display wall?



There is only one way to find out. I'm going to start glueing hang tags on everything I own. I'm sure something will eventually be worth some money. (By the way, don't ever search "tag on package" while at work. You will get some really weird results).

Sort:  

It's good to know that people still keep these in their new condition!!

These games have 'collector's' value, I think something like Pokemon Sun/Moon would be sold at $500 in the next 15-20 years, the older Pokemon Games are already selling in $100s.

I just wish I had one! Or maybe 10 lol!

haha.. I wish too...

I just wish I had one! Or maybe 10 lol!

This post has received a 8.31 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @nerdnews.

Do you remember Earthworm Jim? The game I mean? 🐓🐓

Earthworm Jim is fantastic in snes!!!

Got a friend that used to love that earthworm jim. Thanks for dropping by. Happy gaming! 🐓🐓

I'm convinced 1/2 the game designers were under the influence of something.

Quite sure you are right about that. I would probably make that number even higher! Haha. Your friend. 🐓🐓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55789.30
ETH 2345.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31