Curious Scarlet

in #gedwriting8 years ago (edited)


                                                           

My name is Scarlet Simpson, I am sixteen years old and in Gr 10.

Two weeks ago I was reading a book from the library, I finished the book and was about to put it on my nightstand when a piece of paper fell out. I picked it up and looked at it, it was a letter:


January 15 1855 


Follow the map and go to the house.

Find the passage that leads to the hidden room and make sure that no one follows you.

If they find it this world would come to an end. 

With power like that they could destroy anything that comes in their way.

I'm trusting you with this.  


 The letter came with a map that lead to a passage way in an old abandoned house two blocks away.

 

I thought it was part of the book so I put it away and went to bed. That night I had trouble sleeping as my mind continuously wandered back to the letter.

 

The next morning I took the map and letter with me to school. I showed it to Sophie, my best friend, who told me that we should go to the house.

 

That afternoon when school was over we went to the house. I brought Logan and Max, two of my other friends with, for safety measures.

 

Sophie had a terrified look on her face as we approached the house and tried to persuade me to turn around but I was already determined to see if there really was a passage.  

 

I pulled on the handle and the door creaked open. We went in and followed the map to the wall where the passage was supposed to be.

 

I took a closer look at the wall and knocked a few times to see if there was anything behind the wall and that’s also what they do in the movies – so how could I have not done it. After knocking a few times I realized that the wallpaper in one spot was lighter than the rest. I knocked and the sound was different from the other parts of the wall.

I looked around and saw one of those candle holders from the 1600’s, next to that specific spot on the wall. I pulled it and….

 

“Voilà” I said as part of the wall moved away.

 

I walked in and didn’t bother to check if the others were following. It was dark so we took our phones out and put the flashlight on. The door closed behind us but we continued walking until we heard a sound “what was that?” Sophie asked in a whisper.

 

We all turned to the sound and we saw a mouse, Sophie and I screamed up until Logan shouted at us to stop.

 

“Relax! It’s just a mouse.” He said.

 

I moved as fast as I could away from it.

 

We walked on for about an hour or so with Max asking how much farther we had to walk or Sophie telling us how sore her feet was. Eventually we got to the end of the passage and there was a door, I pushed it open to find tons of battle equipment and armor. This was why the letter said that no one should find this place, but how was someone supposed to be able to destroy the world with this stuff.

 

“Whoa guys come and check this out” Logan said.

 

We went over and I saw the reason, why no one was ever meant to find this room.

 

Atom bombs and Nuclear weapons. Thousands and thousands of nuclear weapons of all kinds.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sort:  

Congratulations @pinkflowerowls22! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @pinkflowerowls22! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59117.01
ETH 2525.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48