THE TEACHER WHO KILLED WINNIE THE POOH

in #gedwriting7 years ago

image credit 

When I was a baby my room was decorated with pictures and posters of Winnie the Pooh. I loved Winnie the Pooh, and I had a Winnie the Pooh bear that slept with me as well as a blanket that I carried around everywhere. Ones the blanket was in the washing and I cried for hours. My mother had to wash it and dry it in the tumble drier just to get me to calm down.

image credit

Even though I grew up and went to school Winnie the Pooh was still my favourite character. I never really liked school because I was a very small child I was much shorter than the rest of my classmates. When we did athletics I usually lost because my legs where too short. I had the nickname shorty and it annoyed me terribly. 

In grade six I got a new teacher. She was the most irritating teacher ever. She was totally obsessed with Winnie the Pooh. Her class was decorated with Winnie the Pooh all over and we were forced to cover our books with Winnie the Pooh wrapping paper. She had the saying when we did something wrong" OH bother, honey honey honey" and I started hating Winnie the Pooh. 

I could not stand to walk into her class and see Winnie the Pooh everywhere. I was very glad when we moved away where I am currently home schooled. I now associate Winnie the Pooh with a bad experience. 

Sorry Pooh but you are no longer my best friend!

image credit

Sort:  

Sad... The fact - adults often do not notice how they influence children in their own words or actions.

What's especially sad is when those types of people become "educators".

This question for me now is particularly acute - my son in the fifth grade...

We've struggled/prodded/fought with the public school system from the very beginning but we have 2 teenage kids who are in every advanced class the schools offer.

The best advice I can give is to stay engaged and on top of what they're being "taught."

Yes, that's absolutely right! Many "teachers" just go to work, they do not want to teach or interest the child, inspire him to get knowledge! Well, in the end, these are our children! How can we not be responsible for them and not worry about their future?!

I see you are in Russia.

Lucky for you, I think Russia is rising and the West is sinking into the swamp it has created for itself.

Most so called "teachers" here are interested in the pay and benefits (pension, health insurance, paid vacation, paid sick time) and their unions make it almost impossible to fire the bad ones.

My son's German Language teacher is from Hungary, she earns more money here teaching German than doctors do in Hungary.

I used to enjoy stories like Animal Farm, until it was explained what it was really about. I liked my childish view of it. There was another book I really liked that this happened to as well, but I can't remember at the mo.

Great story @littlebear

Sorry Pooh but you are no longer my best friend!

Poor Pooh, through no fault of his own. A casualty of our education system.

Poor pooh he had nothing to do with it, please love him again.

So sad that the teacher had to ruin it for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53