A little rant

in #gecko5 years ago

Today is a few days before our winter solstice and I was surprised to find this guy in my kitchen.

gecko2.jpg
Chilling on my finger because it is warm. The weirdest part is watching them lick their eyes: they don't have eyelids and use their tongues to keep their eyes clean

It's clear the cats were playing with it, his tail was gone and that's the thing: they live in the house and they are nocturnal but they hibernate in winter. So what was this little fella doing hanging around where the cats could find him? It's so much warmer than it should be, maybe he didn't hibernate?

gecko.jpg
Another view of those cute little hands

Now his tail is gone and that is where this kind of gecko stores fat to get through winter because there aren't many insects around so I don't think that he can survive.

It's so much warmer than it should be I am germinating spinach seeds outside.

spinach.jpg

Although we can grow spinach in winter in my climate, it's not normal for them to germinate quickly in June.

And people keep saying that climate change is a myth....

Sort:  

cutie! I love their fingers, they are so touchy.

Yes! They really want a macro lens

Great close up of the litter critter :-)

Yeah, he was sluggish and cooperative

Que lindo Gecko. Ya perdió su colita. Dentro de poco tendrá unas buenas espinacas. Sabe? trato de entender la página de, palnet que me pasó, pero es confuso. No lo se. ¿Debo publicar, primero con esa etiqueta y comenzar?, o debo hacer otra cosa antes?, o, o, o. Yo no escribo en ingles, y pasar a escribir al discord, creo que quedaría igual. Muchas preguntas. Saludos amiga.

You are eligible to claim PAL tokens you were given, all you have to do is add the tag when you post. It isn't necessary for it to be the first tag and your profile is here https://www.palnet.io/@gertu
If you need more help to claim and stake the PAL token, please request it, I will ask a Spanish-speaking friend to guide you

ah. ok. gracias amiga. Así lo haré.

Very cute lizard. It is a pity that her tail was torn off.

Yes, it is hard for this kind of gecko to be without a tail in winter

Cute little things. Do they make a chirping sound? I encountered them in Central America.

Not that I have heard

I thought they grew them back.....?

Posted using Partiko Android

Eventually, depending on the circumstances

It’s a baby gecko! We have several big ones in the house and garden! But they are not tame and we keep our distance!

Yes it is srill young but these particular geckos don't get very big

Awww it looks so scared! I hope it can survive!

Well I put it in the garage, away from the cats, for starters

Great photos!
Very sorry for the lizard ...
But maybe she has a chance to survive?

Maybe, maybe not

Oh, I'd have to say that climate change is very real... we're having one of the driest summers on record around here; not necessarily all that warm, just bone dry.

I hope your little critter makes it, although it doesn't sound like its chances are great.

=^..^=

Yes, the dry part is the scariest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76