Strange Issue when Attempting BCH Withdrawal from GDAX

in #gdax7 years ago (edited)

image

So, I just had a strange occurrence on GDAX. I thought I was going to be able to withdrawal my small amount of BCH to fund my Binance account and everything seemed to be going well until I received a little email.

Said email notified me that my funds where sent to an unknown address as follows:

5a31b72f0bc41d0221e844ad

I know I put in the correct address with the correct length to boot (34 characters) so how is it possible that my coins were sent to a 24 character invalid 'address'. BRO, DO YOU EVEN INPUT VALIDATION?!

Well, to be fair, I believe their interface probably does but in all the bustle with the bch pump there were probably issues on the back end. I posted the situation to Reddit as well and a user suggested my computer may be compromised. I think the former is more likely in this case but I suppose it is possible. Going to keep my head on a swivel so to speak. Matter of fact, this prompted me to initiate a unscheduled AV scan. Can never be too careful and you never think it is going to be you... Until it is. Well anyway...

Just goes to show, everytime I try to make a "play" during big crypto events like this it usually doesn't go over so well for me. If I would have kept my coins on GDAX I could have probably dumped for WAY higher and had more to play around with on Binance. I recall the best laid plans of mice and men often to awry. Yep. Sounds about right.

I usually have a lot more luck trading with lower volume alts rather than trying to time trades when the whales are moving. Chalk that up to an experience.

In any case, I have a support request open and will update. Hope y'all fared better ;)

image

Sort:  

Update: Appears to be an automated response from Coinbase.

Hi there,

A hard fork event of the Bitcoin network on August 1st of 2017 created two separate blockchains: Bitcoin (BTC) and Bitcoin Cash (BCH).

Coinbase has always supported Bitcoin (BTC), but we have recently announced full support for Bitcoin Cash (BCH). Bitcoin Cash (BCH) is a different digital asset than Bitcoin (BTC).

You will only be eligible for a Bitcoin Cash credit if you had a Bitcoin balance on Coinbase or GDAX at the time of the August 1st hard fork.

You will now be able to send and receive Bitcoin Cash (BCH) on Coinbase. We hope to enable trading of Bitcoin Cash (BCH) on GDAX and Coinbase very soon. At the time of this email, trading has not yet been enabled.

Please avoid sending BCH to a BTC address, or BTC to a BCH address!

Please see our blog post for more information: https://blog.coinbase.com/buy-sell-send-and-receive-bitcoin-cash-on-coinbase-65f1b2c7214b

You can also live chat with our automated customer support rep, Ada, here: https://coinbase.ada.support/chat/ – Ada can help answer basic questions, keep you up-to-date with current site issues, and assist with website navigation. Ada is always learning and improving!

Thanks for your understanding, and thanks for your patience with us as we grow with the digital currency community.

Regards,

Kyle
The Coinbase Team

Update 2: I have received my deposit. Not sure if this was some sort of anomaly in their email system or they fixed it. It was a day later though so pretty slow for a transaction.

This just happened to me but instead I was sending it between Coinbase and Gdax, got an email saying the transfer was successful to the address 5a31b72f0bc41d0221e844ad and have no funds in either of my accounts. Did your funds return to your Coinbase account or the address you sent it to? It's been 3 days for me.

They arrived at Binance the next day. I'd open up a support request and put pressure on them. That may have prompted them to fix it. I just transferred BTC to OpenLedger and that took less then a day so there was definitely something off. Good luck!

This is bizarre - the exact same thing happened to me, and the email contained that same address. (That's how I found your post; pasted from the email that Coinbase sent me: 5a31b72f0bc41d0221e844ad. That's at least three people who got sent that same address.) I sent it from an external wallet to my GDAX wallet, both proper BCH addresses, and the email from Coinbase has this same unknown 24 character address. It's also been 4 days for me now, it hasn't arrived in my GDAX wallet. I'm trying to get help from Coinbase but they don't seem to understand the problem (said something generic about blockchain transactions being irreversible).

I wonder, was this an internal Coinbase glitch, perhaps introduced during the BCH craziness on the 19th? Or was Coinbase compromised so that multiple BCH transfers ended up in that same address? I would both like to know the answer, since it's an indication of how safe it is to use Coinbase; and I'd like for all of us to get our money back. Coinbase support hasn't been helpful so far.

If anything happens I'll post an update. If you could let me know about your progress I'd appreciate it!

Same issue, I opened a case 22 days ago and I have still not been contacted. They just locked my account pending investigation.

Have your coins arrived now?
Here's another forum where this problem is discussed:
https://www.reddit.com/r/CoinBase/comments/7lmvvx/coinbase_gdax_lost_my_bch/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61238.36
ETH 3278.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46