Genealogy of amnesia or why is it happening again?

in #gay6 years ago (edited)

Recently I've been binge watching Master of None on Netflix. Amazing TV series, if you didn't watch it just stop reading my bullshit and go check it out. But anyways...in my opinion, Aziz Ansari made a really smart and funny TV show that raises lots of question and makes us think about the problems that we are dealing in American society(also applicable to European, Western Europen, Slavic, etc.).

Screen Shot 2018-04-25 at 10.36.29 PM.png

But 2d episode of 1st season dragged my attention especially since it pictures migration, assimilation and all the attributes of this two. Multiple people with different backgrounds coming to the USA in 80th in order to settle down and assimilate there, of course, they feel the pressure of society and discriminated. For example, young Asian couple is rejected to be in the restaurant with an explanation "no free tables", meanwhile the restaurant is actually empty! And this moment touched me deeply because I was there, I was in the same position with 3 small differences:

  • we were homosexual couple;
  • it happened 1 year ago;
  • and it happened in Polland.

In such a moment you normally so shocked that you can't react and resist. But as a photographer I always have a camera with me, so I took a picture of this place.

002585140008.jpg

The restaurant was open. It wasn't late evening and they obviously had free tables. But two ladies holding hands were something too extraordinary for them. You know what is funny? Me and my girlfriend went to this restaurant after the cinema where we watched a movie about WWII, terror, and genocide, on the way to the restaurant I thought "thanks god we live in different time".

86e44352abb46e2e0377cc9e684eea73_tn1.jpg

http://www.covervil.pl/img/covers/86e44352abb46e2e0377cc9e684eea73_tn1.jpg

And some may think I am complaining and nagging. You may say "c'mmon doejane, stop it, we don't wanna hear your pity stories". But I am not complaining about my life here. I am just wondering why the whole world has forgotten what has happened in last century? It is amnesia. I see no other explanation. Right-wing parties are winning everywhere. People more and more hate each other on the basis of race, nationality, orientation or whatever. Even though nationality is absolutely made up thing created by capitalism oppression machine!

I always thought that education can solve this problem, but no...most of the rasists and haters I've met are pretty educated people actually. The population​ of the planet Earth is living in relatively good conditions - we have food, we have homes, there is no big wars, major disease and we all have access to education. So why amnesia? Why coming back to self-destruction? I have no answer. Maybe you know it?

Sort:  

Personally I don’t believe any amount of education will help, as long as humans believe that:

  1. We are all just complicates machines, and the soul and spirit is just an ancient concept invented by naiv people who didn’t know proper science yet. That leads to the view of humans being mere objects and factors within a system (such as capitalism AND communism). Humans are good for working and making profits, or fighting wars. They are spare parts for a system.

  2. Whenever the economy hits bottom, jobs get paid so bad, that many can’t have a decent living, unemployment is on the rise, etc. then people become anxious. When people are anxious and afraid they look for somebody who is fault. That is people who are different from them. So they might have been educated in being tolerant, but when life gets too scary and difficult, they forget about it and want „normal“ things.

That is a very simple explanation and the problem is much more complex, but I thought those two points can explain a lot.

Here in Germany you can see how people get angrier every day (no, we are not as rich as everybody thinks), and you can feel the violence growing more and more everyday. In the summer the government is planning laws that are as bad as back in the Hitler days. I am not exaggerating! So people will be even more afraid and will look for those who are „fault“. It will be foreigners, homosexuals, lesbians, and the other 50+ genders, and sick people. I’m not joking. The government is just planning to release a law, that will be able to put away depressed people, if they could be a „threat“ to someone. And if you believe something else that the government, then you must be crazy and depressed and have to be locked away. It’s crazy.

So as bad as it sounds already, it will get worse.

When studying the WWII era, I read a lot of books, watched documentaries and discussed the subject with many friends. We all thought that would never happen again, we are a lot smarter now. But when I talk to people in the street it is like seeing in real life the idiocy of those past days come back again.

I could tell a lot more, but then the text will get tooooo long :)

Embrace yourself, because we are heading into a very bad direction! And that is unbelievably sad.

We MUST learn to see each other as more than just complicated machines, and put humans first before economy. That is one of the most important steps. And that will be very, very difficult to reeducate people.

But I hope you will still enjoy the evening. It’s not good to just think about dark things :)

Have a pleasant evening

I agree with you! Your input is very solid. And I also see that people become more and more aggressive, not all Europeans are rich and successful, working class is getting short in salaries which bring to dissatisfaction and government simply need an enemy to unite all workers and make them work for less money. But for me, the main question is not even why this is happening again? The biggest concern is how to resist?


I will upvote and resteem your last blog post free to my 35,000+ followers if you reply with the word, "free". Blog posts over 7 days old can not be upvoted or resteemed. a-0-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88